Now Reading
Going for Gold Cup Glory! 2023 Formula Grasstrack Championship and E-Bike Gold Cup – Preview

Going for Gold Cup Glory! 2023 Formula Grasstrack Championship and E-Bike Gold Cup – Preview

The Formula Grasstrack Association continues its 2023 season this Saturday after being forced into a 2 month break due to rain offs.

Preview by Ross Wharton – Feature Image courtesy of Ben Whitehouse and Dylan Wassall

This will be H and N Supplies Ltd Round 7 of the year and will also be the ACU E-bike Gold Cup for the youngest category in the sport. Catering for riders between 4-7, rider’s can use e-bikes up to 1500w. This will be it’s 2nd year of running and the FGA has played a major role in getting the class off the ground thanks to Rachel & John Cox.

Lilly Bence will be seen as one of the favoured riders to win, the 2022 fga ebike champion won’t have it easy with Dalton Wright and Levi Collins expected to be challenging for race wins. Kobi Gutteridge is also one to watch having improved greatly at the last round. Cooper Jax makes his FGA debut too.

In the Auto cadets, 5 of the regulars have entered and they will put on some fantastic racing. Charlie Dowd, Dakota Wright and Alfie Shipp are all capable of beating each otherwhilst Lucas Astley isn’t far off winning races. Kaylem Bourne continues to improve in his debut season in the class.

Chloe Davis and AJ Bence are the only 2 cadets and will be battling between eachother whilst mixed in with the Cub category.

Finley Theobald will be aiming to continue his Cub class dominance whilst 2022 champion Logan Price will be aiming to close the gap to Theobald on new machinery which he has acquired from veteran racer Mike Flynn. Jessica Cox has been busy during the 2 month break practicing and competing on the youth speedway scene and will be one to keep an eye on. Roman Ratcliffe makes his grasstrack debut too.

Max Derrick and Joe Crewe will be the 2 Juniors to look out for. Both have had their fair share of wins in 2023 and Derrick came out on top at round 5. Jack Crewe and Liam Cox will be in the mix for race wins whilst Chrly Arthur and Isaac Collins-Bullock have also entered.

Wayne Broadhurst will once again be favourite to take the senior class spoils but will have to get the better of strong opposition. Kevin Gwillam and Graham Thomas are both capable of top form at the Hampton Hall venue whilst young chargers Sam Hall and Max Broadhurst have both cemented themselves in the leading pack. Phil Thomas has started to get his form back, being in the mix for top 3 at the last couple of rounds.

Colin How, Adam Hawker and Andrew Rowson will continue to push those above and all 3 are capable of winning races on their day.

The Final will be for the Jonathon Rodgers memorial trophy as this was due to be won at round 6 which was rained off.

Practice at 12pm, first race 1pm.

Signposted off the A41 near Malpas. SY14 8JG.