Now Reading
Powering into Preston Docks! 2024 AMCA British Motocross Championship Round 1 – Preview

Powering into Preston Docks! 2024 AMCA British Motocross Championship Round 1 – Preview

The gate drops this weekend at Preston Docks MX, Lancashire as the 2024 AMCA British Motocross Championship fires into action. Supported by Holab Concepts and Joov Products, the list of registered riders shows major changes and a lot of unfamiliar faces! So, in what appears to be the dawning of a new era, there’s going to be new Champions crowned in just about every class which means it’s also sure to be very interesting!

Words and Feature Image by Mike Wood

Five out of the 2024 six rounds scheduled are double headers which means there’s plenty of hot, frantic racing to come in the next few months so let’s have a look who might be leading the charge to eventual glory. Starting from the top it’s a combined Open and MX2 class this year which also incorporates the new Honda Cup. Will Hughes (3rd in 2023), Mark Roberts who had a great season to take 4th, Aaron Collins 5th and Kian Bown 6th all go again in the Open Class joined by the likes of the very experienced former AMCA Champion Ray Rowson, Adam Wells and Harvey Tillotson. After finishing 3rd in the 2023 MX2 contest, fast LRT Yamaha 250cc pilot Liam Gale tops the entry list this time around.

The main 125cc and Youth 125cc Championship will come to the start line together in 2024 as a combined class. Super-fast Harry Linton, 3rd in 2023 looks likely to be a major front runner again in this one along with Charlie Palmer, Luke Newman, Wyatt McGregor and Mason Care. In the Youth 125cc section, last season’s AMCA BW85cc Champion Oakley Kettle steps up in engine power with fellow 2023 85cc pilots Bobby Watson, George Clark and Sebby Moore joining him and looking to be right in the mix.

Also joining forces, the Big -Wheeled and Small-Wheeled 85cc pilots lock horns. After winning the SW series in 2023, Ryan Jackson will again be making the regular journey across the Irish Sea to this time compete in the BW85cc series. 3rd in the 2023 SW85cc AMCA Championship, young Aston Whitehead remains in that class and will certainly be hoping to finish the campaign two steps further up the ladder in 2024! This 85cc class includes action for the BWMA 85cc Girl racers which currently shows Lexi Emery and Cameron Mansbridge as the registered riders.

Talking of the Girls, and for 2024 the main BWMA Women’s Championship reverts to having its own stand-alone races. Hannah Jones, Caitlin Newman, Hollie Roberts, Grace Bates and Amber McGregor all final top six BWMA finishers in 2023 will be competing again. Challenging them though this time around will be some very fast females from the 2023 BWMA 85cc series including Northern Ireland visitor and last year’s 85cc Champion Checoby Rainey. Also, in the mix and stepping up are Holly Williams, Leah Rees-Evans, Erin Howes and Sophie Jones. It’s certainly going to be very interesting seeing how the 2023 BWMA 85cc brigade fair following their upgrade in engine capacities!

All of the 2023 top three AMCA Vets Championship riders come to the start line for the new series. Champion Simon Lane, James Lane and Matt Ryder who was also the Vets Over 50’s winner will be right on it along with regulars Ste Marlow, Richard Tudor and Brian Staples. So, the scene is set for the new AMCA campaign starting with four moto’s this weekend at Preston Docks MX, postcode PR2 2HW, let the action commence!