Now Reading
Wiggins on the Gas! RORE Sprint Enduro Championship Round 3 – Race Report & Results

Wiggins on the Gas! RORE Sprint Enduro Championship Round 3 – Race Report & Results

The finale of this year’s RORE Enduro mini summer sprint series was at an amazing new venue, Manor Farm.

Race Report by Danny Hall – Images courtesy of PhotoFinish43

The day began with the paddock falling silent for 2 minutes to pay their respects and honour the memory of HM Queen Elizabeth II.

After the sighting lap, with the sun shining through the trees, the champs set off. Ricky Wiggins started the day as he meant to finish consistently setting the fastest times securing himself the top spot at the end of the day and one of his own Monsters of Dirt trophies! In second was Brad King who by his own admission rode a few plonker laps but still showed speed and determination! In close third was Will Keenan, riding really well and managing to hold off 4th place Josh Player only 4 seconds behind.

In the Expert class, there was also a good scrap going on between Jay Baxendale and Cavan Watt. They each won a few tests but, in the end, Jay took the top spot by 40 seconds. Cavan finished the day in 2nd but was best placed 125 rider, fair play, he kept it pinned! In third place was Jack Nixey, awesome result considering it was his first race for a long time!

In the Expert vets’ class, there was also a close battle for 1st place, with James Ovens taking the win over Darren Kiff by only a second over the 8 tests! In third place was James Drinkwater who managed to acrew enough points to take the Expert vets championship win.

The Clubman A class also saw some close competition with the top 3 all finishing within 30 seconds of each other. In the end it was Ross Morrison who took the win and set the fastest test time of the class. In Second place was young Harvey Wilkinson who secured enough points to earn himself third in the championship standings, great effort! Close behind in third on the day was Johnathan Masters, just 11 seconds back in the end.

Paul Jones had a very convincing win the Clubman B class, finishing over a minute ahead of everyone else. In Second place was Ross Curtis who found his groove after a steady start. Third place was Chris Rowan, enjoying his new bike by the looks of it!

In Clubman vets class James Green set off quick going under 6 minutes by a long way and extending his gap to take the win. In second place was Barry Cheffey who only finished 20 seconds off the top spot in the end. Third was Rob Smith, yes you Rob! We have your trophy!

Maciej Caputa won the Sportsman class by over a minute and half with some consistent test times! In second place was Jake Outrim who held off close competition from Alfred Busby, giving him the points, he needed to take the overall sportsman championship. Alfred was third on the day just 5 seconds off 2nd.

The Sportsman vets’ class was won by Justin Short who also secured a victory for the overall championship making himself the second highest points scorer after Ricky Wiggins in the champs. Well done Justin great result! Second place was claimed by enduro newcomer Nathan Coles, we hope you enjoyed it and hopefully to see you at some more events. In third was Chris Dello, doing bravery proud!

The Youth class was very well attended with 8 competitors lining up. Finlay Taylor took the win and finished in 28th overall, beating most of the adult Clubman riders! In second place was Tyler Graves who secured enough points to take the win in the youth championship standings, well done! In third place was Alfred Ovens, taking after his dad both making the podium, great effort.

Big shout out to the Tenere riders Steff Jewell and Philip Webber, certainly not the best track for big bikes but they made it look easy!
Many thanks to you all for attending the event and supporting the series! We hope to return to the venue for some practice days over the winter, weather permitting and future sprints next year! Also huge thanks to Crescent Motorcycles for Sponsoring the series as well as Mito UK and Monsters of Dirt for helping.

A special thanks to Pete Coles and Chester for running the sprints. Marcus for everything! The marshals, Craig, Boyce, Wardie, Dave S, Dave K, Simon and Wayne! Also Brad, Stevo, Boyce, Stan, Cav and Justin for helping with track prep and clearing.

Final championship standings can be found on Facebook and our website. Awards will be handed out at the first round of the winter series or our next enduro practice on Sunday 27th November!

See you all in a few weeks’ time, limited spaces left so get booked in for round one of the Southern Centre Winter Series on Sunday 2nd October!