Now Reading
Luca Trooper! Nora British Quad XC Championship Round 3 – Race Report & Results

Luca Trooper! Nora British Quad XC Championship Round 3 – Race Report & Results

Round 3 of the Nora Motorsport ATVs Only British XC Championship took place at Allercott Pits in Somerset. This is one of the best enduro venues in the country and a 6 mile loop was laid on for the riders to tackle the only disappointment on Sunday was the weather!

Report by Ashley Holt – Images courtesy of Lisa-Ann Williams-Holt

Instead of a fine June day it had rained overnight and Sunday morning was dark and overcast with a constant drizzle on low lying cloud which would make things tougher for the Youth who were the first race of the day.

The Youth Race ran over 1.5hrs tackling the same course as the Adults would later in the day and the 250 Hybrid class was first to go. Charlie Wheatley’s recent mechanical issues look to be behind him and he led the race from start to finish with Chloe Maybury achieving 2nd place and Ollie Pinder in 3rd.

Cai Evans was the early leader in the 250 Air Cooled class before suffering with a problem with his bike which dropped him down the order, James Maybury took over at the front with Louie Holt close behind, they battled it out until the last lap with James claiming his 2nd win, Louie 2nd and a debut podium for Alix Edmed-Kellaway in 3rd.

In the 125cc class it was a win for Owen Stephens from Ronnie Burnett having both completed 3 laps of the tough 6 mile loop.

The MINI Quad Race for riders aged 5-11 took place over a shortened course for 30 Minutes albeit no less of a challenge, with 13 Mini quads lined up it was a great spectacle to watch these future stars.

A Win in the 100cc Class for Luca Balsano with Luke Waddington taking 1st in 90cc and in the 50cc class it was Jaxon-Blu Butcher taking 1st place. All the Mini Quad Riders did fantastic and all deserve big congratulations!

By midday there weather was still playing its part and the low cloud had reduced visibility on certain parts of the circuit so the Adult race was flagged away with words of caution from the Clerk of the course to take it steady in those opening laps with the Race eventually having to be shortened to 2hrs due to the conditions rather than the normal 2.5 hours.

The Expert plus Class led away with Jamie Morgan once again the man to beat and taking an early lead over the rest of the pack, Jamie settled in and took the Expert Plus win and the overall on the day; Jonny Kelly again had to settle for 2nd place with Paul McConway in 3rd.
Tom Bainbridge on his return to Enduro took the win in the Expert class and was 2nd only to Jamie Morgan overall, Tome Stevens was 2nd with Jake Best in 3rd.

Bradley Johnson with an outstanding performance in the Clubman class to take the win only 2 weeks after fracturing his ribs at the previous round, McKenzie Evans made him work hard for it after leading for most of the race was 2nd and Jack Evans 3rd.

In the Sportsman Class it was a win for Ben Woodhead with young Liam Griffiths 2nd and Borja Castro in 3rd.

Shaun Wealleans and Neil Martin continued their battle in the 4×4 lights class with Shaun just edging Neil for the victory, Neil 2nd and Adam Plumb was 3rd.

In the 4×4 Clubman class Harry Stevens once again took 1st place with a 2 minute gap back to Pete Badge with Oli Keen in 3rd.

The 4×4 Expert class was as competitive as always, previous race winner Simon David had an early off and it was a returning Steve Atkins who led the highly competitive class the only rider to complete 8 laps to take the win and 3rd overall with Simon David eventually finishing 2nd and Graham Guy in 3rd

Well done to all the winners today and each and every rider who took part!

A big Thanks to our Title Sponsor ATV’s Only and associate GML ATV for the support this season and to all our class sponsors, Rapid Recovery, Lockett Plant Hire, AJ Wilcock, PBR Electrical, Quadzilla, Premier Products, White Construction and Pool Bridge Campsite Exmoor.


Adult Overall

Pos Competitor Diff Laps
1 Jamie Morgan 0 8
2 Tom Bainbridge 03:23.4 8
3 Steve Atkins 04:55.7 8
4 Simon David 1 lap 7
5 Jonny Kelly 1 lap 7
6 Graham Guy 1 lap 7
7 Tom Stevens 1 lap 7
8 Harry Stevens 1 lap 7
9 Paul McConway 1 lap 7
10 Pete Badge 1 lap 7
11 Stuart Marley 1 lap 7
12 Oli Keen 1 lap 7
13 Bradley Johnson 1 lap 7
14 Mckenzie Evans 1 lap 7
15 Jake Best 2 laps 6
16 Stefan Cook 2 laps 6
17 Daniel Teal 2 laps 6
18 Tiago Gomes 2 laps 6
19 Ryan Willett 2 laps 6
20 Laura Linton 2 laps 6
21 John Keys 2 laps 6
22 Jack Evans 2 laps 6
23 Shaun Wealleans 2 laps 6
24 Joshua Brown 2 laps 6
25 Neil Martin 2 laps 6
26 Colin Burnett 2 laps 6
27 Nigel Morris 2 laps 6
28 Ben Woodhead 2 laps 6
29 Paul Bennett 2 laps 6
30 Paul Robinson 3 laps 5
31 Michael Pittaway 3 laps 5
32 Ryan Johnson 3 laps 5
33 Kevin Mortimer 3 laps 5
34 Joe Bacon 3 laps 5
35 Adam Plumb 4 laps 4
36 Dean Johnson 4 laps 4
37 Liam Griffiths 4 laps 4
38 Borja Castro 5 laps 3
39 Harry Hinkley 6 laps 2

Youth Overall

Pos Competitor Diff Laps
1 Charlie Wheatley 0 5
2 James Maybury 02:53.6 5
3 Louie Holt 05:40.2 5
4 Alix Edmed-Kellaway 13:12.9 5
5 Jamie Burnett 1 lap 4
6 Jack Badge 1 lap 4
7 Chloe Maybury 1 lap 4
8 Cai Evans 1 lap 4
9 Owen Stephens 2 laps 3
10 Ronnie Burnett 2 laps 3
11 Mathew Merry 3 laps 2
12 Oliver Pinder 3 laps 2

Mini Overall

Pos Competitor Diff Laps
1 Luca Balsano 0 19
2 Joseph Hayes 9.077 19
3 Luke Waddington 1 lap 18
4 Harrison Grellier 2 laps 17
5 Izzy Lloyd 2 laps 17
6 Jaxon-Blu Butcher 3 laps 16
7 Oliver Willsher 3 laps 16
8 Harry Barker 4 laps 15
9 Alfie Chew 4 laps 15
10 Tyler Willcock 5 laps 14
11 Sidney Wilfred 6 laps 13
12 William Pinder 7 laps 12
13 Ella Burnett 10 laps 9