Now Reading
Classic victory from Jenkins! Dyfed Dirt Bike Club (DDBC) Brechfa Enduro – Race Report & Results

Classic victory from Jenkins! Dyfed Dirt Bike Club (DDBC) Brechfa Enduro – Race Report & Results

With the latest round of the Welsh Enduro Championship as well as the ACU British Sidecar and ACU Classic Twinshock solo bike championship having taken place on Sunday the high quality of events in the series continued when the Dyfed Dirt Bike Club (DDBC) Brechfa Enduro took place in West Wales.

Report and Images by Gary Jones Photography

A lap of around 25 miles which had to be modified within a day or two of the event route marking taking place due to last minute NRW restrictions in the Brechfa forest the event was lucky to take place at all, but with negotiations between Clerk of the Course Meirion Scourfield and bosses in the NRW offices, along with extra land found by local land owners a route was put together and the event luckily went ahead after hours of hard work put in by club members.

With the 180 bikes entered in Parc firme the first of the championship class kicked their engines into life at 10am and headed out on a very wet course after heavy rain the previous day with five laps ahead of them, the special test took place on open hillsides as well as in a private forest block which would determine most of the results but with check times getting fairly tight as the day progressed a few riders lost a minute or two in various classes in the Brechfa Tower check.

Alex Walton took the win in the Championship class

Alex Walton took the win in the Championship class 28 seconds faster than runner up Gethin Humphreys both riding Gas Gas machinery, whilst Harry Hillier-Rees claimed third on his Sherco.

In the Expert class it would be two Fantics that would claim the top steps of the podium Jac George Llandeilo took the win from Lampeter rider Sion Evans by 11 seconds after an all day battle between the local riders. Ashley Jones seemed to be on fire claiming a well earned 3rd overall in the class setting some good test times all day.

Jack George took max points in the Experts class towards his welsh championship campaign on the Fantic 125

The Clubman class saw Shaun Richards from Cross Hands continue his winning ways on his Beta finishing 15 seconds up on Ryan Rowlands Sherco, with Liam Garbett taking third on a KTM.

In the Vet’s classes Paul Herbert claimed the win in the O/v 40’s class riding a Beta with Tim Foreman taking the runner up spot over a minute down. Meanwhile in the O/v 50’s class Jason Rees continued to claim max points in the Welsh Championship class with a win on his Husky, Keith Hebron finished as runner up but over a minute down also aboard a Husky.

Sion Evans lifts the front wheel heading from the start line two check one on his PAR Homes Fantic 125

The ladies were also in fine form with Zoe Zembruski claiming the win on her Beta, Kate Smith would finish second on a KTM but over a minute down on the Llandrindod Wells rider.

The Classic classes saw Phil Jenkins from Ffarmers again take his Maico 440 to the top spot in the Expert Classic class whist the Yamaha of Shaun Turner claimed runner up almost 2 minutes down on Jenkins, North Wales rider Euros Jones claimed third on his Yamaha IT. The Clubman Classic class win went to South Wales veteran rider Karl Raikes on the popular SWM over three minutes up on his buddy Paul Morgan who claimed runner up on his Yamaha, Husky mounted Pepe Powell took third in the class.

Twinshock Classic clubman winner Karl Raikes on the SWM

The sportsman Class winner was Iwan Mills riding a Sherco whilst Paul Thomas aboard a Husky finished as runner up and Ben Evans Sherco claiming third in the popular class.

The Sidecar classes all in the British Championship round again saw David Williams / Will Green take max points in the Championship class, Alun Davies / Luke Peters took the runner up spot two minutes down on Williams with both crews having dropped a minute on the going, Jonathan Williams / Neil James claimed third having dropped 2 minutes on the going.

Championship sidecar winning crew David Williams / Will Green

The Experts Sidecar class win went to Anthony Millar / Travis Johnson with this crew again dropping four minutes on the going, whist the runner up crew would be popular locals Rhodri Gardner / Josh the acrobat Rees who dropped seven minutes in their first season on a sidecar the pair also claimed the award for best action photo donated by Gary Jones Photography.

Runners up in the Experts sidecar class were Rhodri Gardner and Josh the acrobat Rees who also took the Gary Jones Photography award for best action pic

Clubman Sidecars saw Peter King / Martin Lawford take the top step of the podium after dropping three minutes whilst the runner up spot went to Martin Paosila-Jones / Nick Morgan possibly the oldest crew on the event with a combined age of 116 they dropped 28 minutes but made the finish line and the podium in true enduro fashion.


Brechfa Provisional Class Results V2