Now Reading
Blasting into Blaxhall! 2024 Dirt Store ACU British Motocross Championship Round 4 – Preview & Event info

Blasting into Blaxhall! 2024 Dirt Store ACU British Motocross Championship Round 4 – Preview & Event info

On Sunday, June 23rd, the Dirt Store ACU British Motocross Championship returns to the Blaxhall Circuit in Suffolk for Round 4 of the Championship. Hosted by the Woodbridge and DMCC, this event features the country’s top riders competing across five thrilling classes.

Set against the spectacular sandy venue just off the A12, the day’s action begins at 8:45 am with practice and qualifying. The race program includes eight exciting races, featuring two 25-minute-plus-2-lap motos for both the MX1 and MX2 classes, and two championship races for the Big Wheel 85cc, Youth 125cc, and Youth 250cc classes.

Woodbridge and DMCC, known for their exceptional organisational skills, have been named ‘Organiser of the Year’ multiple times, reflecting their dedication and attention to detail.
In the MX1 class, the championship battle is fierce. Five-time FIM Motocross World Champion Jeffrey Herlings, “The Bullet,” leads the pack and will be defending his lead in his first visit to Blaxhall. Reigning British MX1 champion Conrad Mewse on the Crendon Fastrack Hitachi Honda is just six points behind, with Josh Gilbert on the Gabriel SS24 KTM in third. Irishmen Martin Barr (Apico Honda) and Jason Meara are fourth and fifth, respectively. Local competitors include James Cottrell (ASA United GasGas), Sam Nunn (John Banks Honda), and Tom Grimshaw (Apico Honda), along with Blaxhall regulars Shaun Southgate and Connor Bunkle.

In the MX2 class, American rider Jack Chambers on the Bike It Kawasaki leads the standings by five points over Dutchman Cas Valk on the Gabriel SS24 KTM. The Dirt Store Kawasaki team, featuring Joel Rizzi and Tommy Searle, follows, with Dylan Walsh (MSR Kawasaki) in fifth. Local interest centres on Ipswich’s Jake Nicholls and Bury St Edmunds’ Elliott Banks-Browne, with Jake Rackham aiming to leverage his track knowledge for impressive results.

The Youth 125 class sees Jamie Keith leading the championship, closely followed by Josh Vail and Jake Walker. In the Youth 250cc class, Reece Jones leads, with Harrison Greenough and Joel Fisher in second and third, respectively.

The Big Wheel 85cc class showcases future stars, with Hayden Statt currently leading the championship. Local rider Alfie Geddes-Green from Norwich is in second, followed by Finley Pickering in third.

Supported by sponsors Talk Access & Lifting Ltd, Foxwood Trade, Steve Lumley Planing Ltd, and Stebbings Car Superstore, the event promises an unforgettable day of racing.
Blaxhall Circuit is located just off the A12 north of Woodbridge. For Sat Nav, use the postcode IP17 1LG and follow the signposts from there. The action starts at 8:45 am with Qualifying sessions, with the first main race beginning at 11:00 am.

Admission prices are £25 for adults, £5 for children under 15, and free for children under 5. Family tickets are available for £55. Tickets can be purchased online via the club’s website at

Race Schedule

How to get there

Track Map