Now Reading
The World awaits! 2022 FIM World Supercross Championship Round 1 – Preview, Entry Lists and Event info!

The World awaits! 2022 FIM World Supercross Championship Round 1 – Preview, Entry Lists and Event info!

The 2022 FIM World Supercross Championship season-opener fires into life tomorrow in Cardiff at the epic Principality Stadium.

The British Grand Prix will give UK fans the chance to see the sport’s biggest names in action, with the likes of former supercross world champion Eli Tomac, twice-champion and supercross stalwart Chad Reed, and AMA motocross champion and supercross superstar Ken Roczen lining up alongside a plethora of European talent – such as French ace and former motocross world champion Jordi Tixier and Italian Angelo Pellegrini – while Brits Max Anstie and Dean Wilson will give the home crowd someone to cheer for.

Adding to the spectacle will be physics-defying freestyle motocross shows, awe-inspiring pyrotechnics, and a live performance from music megastar AJ Tracey, while fans can get closer to their racing heroes with pit walks and rider signing sessions.

The 2022 FIM World Supercross Championship also breaks from tradition with a new event format designed to maximise action, excitement, and entertainment.

The addition of a superpole session for the WSX (450cc) class will see 10 riders – the top five finishers from the two heat races – set off one at a time in a time trial format, with lap times determining gate picks for the main events.

For both the WSX and SX2 (250cc) classes, the main events are also overhauled. For the WSX class, the typical 20-minute races have been replaced with two eight-minute races and a 12-minute race, with just five minutes in between. The result is an increase in the overall level of intensity and unpredictability, and more emphasis on the importance of a good start. The SX2 class will get two six-minute and one 10-minute race.

Tickets for the British Grand Prix, which takes place on Saturday 8 October, can be purchased here, with gates opening at 15:30 while track action gets underway from 17:30.


1:30pm-2:15pm – Warm-Up Sessions – SX2 then WSX
2:20pm-3:00pm – Timed Practice Sessions – SX2 then WSX
5:00pm – Opening Ceremony and National Anthem
5:30pm-5:49pm – SX2 Heat Races x 2 (5 Laps)
5:50pm-6:00pm – WSX Heat Races x 2 (6 Laps)
6:00pm-6:05pm – SX2 Finals Gate Selection
6:05pm-6:15pm – Freestyle MX
6:20pm-6:30pm – WSX Superpole (Top 10)
6:30pm – SX2 Final 1 (6 Laps)
6:42pm – SX2 Final 2 (6 Laps)
6:49pm – SX2 Super Final (10 Laps)
7:00pm – SX2 Podium (Round Top 3)
7:07pm-7:12pm – WSX Gate Selections
7:12pm-7:20pm – Freestyle MX
7:20pm – AJ Tracey Live Performance
7:50pm – WSX Final 1 (8 Laps)
7:58pm – WSX Final 2 (8 Laps)
8:06pm – WSX Super Final (12 Laps)
8:20pm – WSX Podium (Round Top 3)


All events will be live-streamed via WSX.TV, but the UK Media Partner is BT Sports who are set to show 3 hours of live coverage.

Entry Lists