Dirt Track
Now Reading
Great Gough of Scunthorpe! Dirt Diggers #3 – Report and Results

Great Gough of Scunthorpe! Dirt Diggers #3 – Report and Results


The third instalment of the Dirt Diggers trilogy was held at the Eddie Wright Raceway in Scunthorpe on the 19th September.

Images courtesy of Ian Rispin

Despite coronavirus meaning the after-party was unable to happen, and a few riders had to drop out because someone in the family had a cold there were still 156 entries from 120 riders.  Dirt Diggers is a veritable feast of Flat track racing with pretty much any machine being catered for, which means tons of racing and riders.

The track was in prime condition throughout even though it held so many races.  Angus Gough went through the card in the Flat Track class winning all of his heats and then winning the final. Jack Bell who has been the racer to beat in the Scunthorpe Flat Track Summer series was second with George Sturgess in third.

Bell though made sure he claimed the Minibike victory and won out over Peter Kimber and Simon Bird.

Minibikes Simon Bird, Jack Bell, Peter Kimber & Jesse Moore

In the British bikes class Will Bratley pulled a victory out of the bag in the final, backing up his two heat wins. David Webb qualified in fifth but in the final he would finish second with Adrian Soanes on the third step of the podium.

There were three Choppers entered in that group and although the heats were a right off for Sam Neville, when it came to the final he got his act together and took the win and the title. Warren Pick was second and Richard Sharpe was third.

MX Dirt Bike Grid – Josh Pennell (4), Julian Shaw (9), Maximilian Rossi (62), Luke Potter (99) and Robert Husband (14)

Archie Jeeves was the number one in a stacked Inappropriate Road Bike class fending off Chris Francis and Lee Atkinson who pulled off a great ride in the final after qualifying in 11th.

Jack Franklin was the top qualifier in the Junior One group but when it came to the final a fall would end his title aspirations and the win would go the way of Thomas Headley ahead of Mya Harris and Zack Tuttlebee.

Junior One – Thomas Headley (2), Cody Clayton Keiller (22) and Jack Franklin (5)

In Junior Two Wyatt Hopkins was in majestic form and took the chequers in each and every race. Paddy Moore was the runner up with Alfie Croft rounding out the podium.

Wag Scott has been in tremendous form in the Ladies class this season and continued that by going unbeaten and winning the final from Emily Moore and Erin Dyer.

Choppers action (left to right Sam Neville, Warren Pick and Richard Sharpe)

The MX class was won by Jonny Holmes, passing the chequers ahead of Luke Potter and Julian Shaw.

The top spot was hotly contested in the Scooter class but in the final Scott Thompson who hadn’t won a heat took the advantage to claim the victory over Garry Robinson and Mark Bibby.

Scooter Mary Bibby Garry Robinson Scott Thompson

Douglas Reed got the job done in the Street Comp category with Jesse Moore second, Adam Grice third, with top qualifier Tom Busfield in fourth.

A rammed Street Tracker group saw Nick Linnel take the title from Luke Potter and Max Jackman.

Aaron Tuttlebee was the king of the Vintage with a busy Linnel second and Scott Speed third.

Vintage Scott Speed (59) and Aaron Tuttlebee (34)