Now Reading
Mason on a mission! Dave Roper Memorial Youth Enduro – Race Report and Results

Mason on a mission! Dave Roper Memorial Youth Enduro – Race Report and Results


In the scenic setting of Great Cornard on a perfect bright sunny autumn morning. A strong line-up for this key fundraising event of the year saw 19 entries of age 12 – 16 riders. Many of whom have benefitted from the training and opportunities the Dave Roper Memorial Fund provides in the youth support programme.

Report and Images by Paula Day Photography

Promoting the sport to new and upcoming riders of all abilities was something close to the heart of Dave Roper and has been the clubs objective ever since with various club initiatives providing opportunities throughout the year.

With strict measures in place to ensure all governing body and local authority guidelines were met, the many spectators who usually make the Annual Dave Roper Memorial event so special were sadly missed but a great days racing was safely enjoyed in the name of the great Sudbury Club Stalwart who sadly passed away while in the position of Sudbury MCC chairman 11 years ago. His family all retain strong links with the club and sadly Dave’s widow Bev a strong supporter, was unable to attend due to restrictions.

Mason Miller takes the chequers

In the hotly contended youth race Michael Wilson who attends Hedingham School was determined to hold off his early lead with a phenomenal start which he kept going until the end of the penultimate lap 4 after 15 minutes of racing flat out, where just before the timing gantry Mason Miller managed to overtake Michael on the outside to take the lead and top position on the podium.

Will Belton

The remainder of the riders were busy bustling for places in the wake of dust left by the trailblazers storming in front and kept the race interesting with a few fierce tussles. With one retirement after a fall the well subscribed race was the perfect end and a great legacy to a fantastic Dave Roper Memorial Event for 2020.


1st Mason Miller
2nd Michael Wilson
3rd Will Belton
4th Thomas Davies
5th Freya Jolly
6th William Turtle
7th Cameron Parrish
8th Alfie Arnold
9th Frazer Lawrence
10th Morgan Plaskett