Now Reading
Battle of the Bog! Sudbury MCC Foxborough Enduro – Race Report and Results

Battle of the Bog! Sudbury MCC Foxborough Enduro – Race Report and Results


A beautiful summer morning dawned over Foxborough in Hedingham as promised of a great days Enduro racing for the Sudbury Motorcycle Club after months of inactivity.

Report and Images by Paula Day Photography

This regular venue used with the kind permission of landowner Mr William Turtle has been on the Sudbury calendar for years but following a facelift with the inclusion of the bog after many years lying dormant, alongside many other tweaks and track variations it transformed the familiar undulating course and posed a few questions for the 120 riders who tackled the race after heavy rain the night before.

With Championship, Expert & Clubman classes run at the same time with staggered starts for the 2-and-a-half-hour race, the bog offered a hard but much quicker option and it soon sorted the men from the boys and the 30 odd seconds it saved when tackled successfully soon added up as the Championship winner Jake Nicholls from Woodbridge MCC finished on 22 laps ahead Ben Cole and Shaun Southgate on 21 laps.

Jake Nicholls and Craig Roper

Mitchell Parfitt from the Sidcup and District MCC was the Expert winner on 20 laps as was Colchester based & Sudbury Club members Joe Phillips in 2nd place and Lawford based Joe Henthorn who took the chequered flag for the Clubman class with 19 laps.

After the first 3 laps the bog truly lived up to its name with some 7 odd bikes stuck fast creating several more obstacles for the already tested riders. The Sudbury club has spent the last few weeks fine-tuning the many extra measures to cover government and ACU guidelines including social distancing, and although very different from a usual race day a hugely successful day was had by all.


1st Jake Nicholls 22 laps
2nd Ben Cole 21 Laps
3rd Shaun Southgate 21 Laps
4th Jamie Roper 21 Laps
5th Craig Roper 20 Laps
6th Jack Berry 20 Laps

1st Mitchell Parfitt 20 Laps
2nd Joe Phillips 20 Laps
3rd Shaun Leggett 19 Laps
4th Phil Roper 19 Laps
5th George Bales 19 Laps
6th Conor Gadd 19 Laps

1st Joseph Henthorn 19 Laps
2nd Roger Frean 18 Laps
3rd Barnaby Knight 18 Laps
4th Gary Curtis 18 Laps
5th Darren Carter 18 Laps
6th Colin Brand 18 Laps

For the full results head here >> Foxborough 26.7.20 Proviisional Results1