Now Reading
Woodcock enjoys World Supercross wildcard in Cardiff!

Woodcock enjoys World Supercross wildcard in Cardiff!

SR75 Suzuki and Dylan Woodcock made history this weekend, competing in the maiden round of the all new FIM World Supercross Championship (WSX) in Cardiff, UK.

The team secured Dylan a wildcard entry to the first ever WSX race and lined-up in the SX2 class onboard the specially prepared SR75 Suzuki RM-Z250 race machine. Dylan rode fantastically against the world’s best supercross riders to take 18th, 16th and 21st place finishes in the three main events.

Despite feeling under the weather, Dylan got to grips with the opening practice sessions, lapping within a couple of seconds of the top riders in the highly competitive event. In Race 1, Dylan put in a strong and consistent performance over the 6 laps to take 18th out of 22 riders, finishing just 2 seconds behind the USA’s Cole Seely. Dylan improved in Race 2 and finished 2 places higher in 16th place but struggled in the gruelling 10-lap superfinal, crossing the line in 21st place.

Dylan Woodcock said, “It was so cool to have such a big event in the UK and it was great to race in front of so many British fans, thank you everyone for the support. A big thanks to my team and sponsors for their ongoing support. We’re excited to crack on with the rest of our racing this season.”

Team Owner Geoff Walker commented, “What an amazing night racing in the WSX Championship. Dylan put in a big effort and gave the team a good representation on the world stage. We were stoked to be able to take part in this historic event and can’t wait to see how the rest of the championship unfolds with these world class supercross riders. Thank you as always to our amazing sponsors and partners.”

SX2 GP Race 1

1. Mitch Oldenburg (USA)
2. Chris Blose (USA)
3. Matt Moss (AUS)
18. Dylan Woodcock (UK)

SX2 GP Race 2

1. Max Anstie (UK)
2. Maxime Desprey (FRA)
3. Shane McElrath (USA)
16. Dylan Woodcock (UK)

SX2 Super Final

1. Mitch Oldenburg (USA)
2. Cole Seely (USA)
3. Aaron Tanti (AUS)
21. Dylan Woodcock (UK)