Now Reading
Wibberley storms Witley! Witley Boxing Day Enduro – Race Report and Results

Wibberley storms Witley! Witley Boxing Day Enduro – Race Report and Results

by adminDecember 31, 2018

The Witley Boxing Day Enduro visited a new venue for 2019, the prestigious Ashdown Farm. Utilising the very best of the challenging motocross track and surrounding woodland, the event reverted to its roots as a traditional scramble style event.

Feature image and Report by Tristan Robinson – Other action image courtesy of Martin Ward – Motoward Yamaha.

Under Clerk of the Course Aaron Smith, the riders were flagged away in two groups as the spectators crowded the hillside. Ben Wibberley took the holeshot and was the first to ascend the famed hill before disappearing off into the trees. Five time Boxing Day winner, Daryl Bolter was not far behind, until the chain snapped on his machine, leaving him with a long push back to the paddock.

Ben Wibberley stayed out front to take a convincing win ahead of Brad Warton, with Daryl Bolter coming home a very respectable third after his mechanical issue and the fastest lap times of the event.

Josh Kirby won the experts, Jack Twentyman came out the best of the Veteran Experts. Jamie Maller premiered the Clubman A. Shane Babey was the best of the Clubman Vets and James Murdoch Dunn stole the Clubman B lead by 48 seconds. Kier Tett put on a very impressive performance to win the Evo class on a beautifully prepared CR250 Red Rocket, while Tobias Sammut won his first enduro in the Sportsman Class.

Ben Wibberley wins the J.W. ‘Bill’ Boniface Trophy for 2018, our thanks to Ashdown Farm for the use of their fantastic venue and we look forward to seeing you all again next year!

Click here for the Full Results