Now Reading
What a great ten! Enduroland Chacombe 10 Hour Enduro – Race Report, Highlights and Results

What a great ten! Enduroland Chacombe 10 Hour Enduro – Race Report, Highlights and Results


Endurolands longest enduro of the year, the Chacombe 1o hour ended with horrendous weather just after the 9 hour mark to massively change the venue and riding conditions became like ice!

Report by Boss – Images courtesy of Dizzychoonz

Always a fun day it is the most punishing event of the year and this year proved no different.

A two and a three man team headed the big lap count with 47 laps each and Team Andy Saunders just missing out on the overall.

Lots of results surprised the timing team with everyone doing superb in the mixed conditions, starting off moist and nearly perfect to dusty mid race, and finally swamped at the end.

The day started with a minutes noise married with the usual bagpipes for our friend and colleague Andy Saunders.

The first starter rocket signified the Ironman start with all the racers running to their bikes.  An impromptu second rocket signified the team start but with a rider still sat on the Ironman line it was a close call to get him away (our pyrotechnics wizard is in therapy now!). The straggling Ironman eventually just got off before the teams flooded up behind him at the old oak tree.

A classy Holeshot (Moet & Chandon) was contested and Kirk Giles (204) was the first ironman to the Holeshot marker.

The team Holeshot was won by Team DBS racing (275) who just managed to squeeze past the last Ironman. (3 bottles Moet & Chandon prize)

A fairly trouble free race for most riders with a few blown gearboxes and early minor crashes.

The paddock and oval pit lane at the TEN is always a happy place where riders can pit/change riders and take refreshment directly at their vehicles.

Here are the winners…


Adventure Bike – Steve Bryan
Novice/Sportsman  – Jadyn Giles
Clubman  – James Dover
Vets/Masters – Jamie Jenkins
Experts – Kirk Giles

2 Man Team

Father & Son – Team Davis
Novice/Sportsman –  Team Motoking
Clubman –  Team Uggly and Co
Vets/Masters – Team Dads Army
Experts -Team Tiny Tempye

3 Man Team

Novice/Sportsman – Team Crash Test Dummies
Clubman –  Team DBS Racing
Vets/Masters -Team GPF
Experts – Team Andy Saunders

Overall rider of the event 69 Allan Hopwood

2 man team –  Tiny Tempye 47 laps .

Ironman Kirk Giles
3 man team – Team DBS racing

Next year’s TEN is set for Saturday 10th August 2019