Now Reading
Thrill a Minute! Formula Grasstrack Championships Round 6 – Race Report and Results

Thrill a Minute! Formula Grasstrack Championships Round 6 – Race Report and Results


Despite heavy rain showers during the day, Whitchurch MCC’s Formula Grasstrack was a day of thrills & spills. The rain came twice during the point scoring heats but didn’t stop rider’s from producing some close racing at round 6 of the 2018 championship. There was added prestige to the event with the final winners taking home the Jonathon Rodgers memorial trophies.

Report by Ross Wharton

Ollie Binns continued his dominance of the Auto Cadet class by getting the better of Wolverhampton’s Harry Fletcher. Binns taking maximum points in all his rides to stamp his authority on the championship & take home the Jonathon Rodgers trophy for the 2nd year running.

Billy Budd would add more points to his Cub championship lead by taking maximum points ahead of Joe Crewe. Both Cub riders were mixed in with the Junior class and both riders were not disgraced.

The Junior class saw Eli Meadows extend his points advantage at the top of the Junior championship table. Meadows dominated the combined Junior and Cub races before going on to win the Junior Jonathon Rodger’s Trophy. Katie Gordon looked to have sewn up 2nd spot until a machine issue at the start of the final point scoring ride left 2nd place to Gino Casale. 2017 Champion Sam Hall was left to watch from the other side of the fence due to a fractured bone in his foot.

Martin Adams would continue his consistent run to still lead the Senior championship with a 2nd place over all. But the glory would go to the experienced Glyn Stanton, who was returning to track action after a heavy fall at round 4. The slow gating Stanton would have to work his way through the pack in most rides to take 4 race wins and 2 second places. The last podium step went to Marcus Crutchington who scored consistently throughout the meeting after making gearing changes before the meeting. Crewe’s Dave Binns finished 4th despite being involved in a big crash in his 5th ride. Whilst leading, Binns slipped off entering turn 4 on the 2nd lap leaving Martin Adams nowhere to go except straight over the top of the stricken Binns. Both Men walked away but Binns was excluded for causing the stoppage. 5th Place went to Andy Binns whilst championship front runner Liam Ashcroft was unlucky with only 6th after 2 races with mechanical issues. Ashcroft would borrow a Machine off team meadows to complete his last 3 rides before the Final.

In the Jonathon Rodgers Senior final, it was Liam Ashcroft who got away quickest to take a tapes to flag victory ahead of surprise runner up Andy Binns who had his best meeting in a long time with Top points scorer Stanton rounding off the rostrum.

Hard Luck stories go out to Shrewsbury’s Steve Mace. Mace has been enjoying a fantastic championship run and looked to continue his form until a first bend incident in his 4th ride left him nursing a bang on the head and several bruised ribs. Tividale’s Ryan Ashcroft looked to have finally shaken off his mechanical gremlins after only finishing one ride all afternoon, He changed Carburettors to cure the problems and take a ‘B’ Final victory.


Auto – 1st O. Binns 42, 2nd H. Fletcher 36

Cub – 1st B. Budd 42, 2nd J. Crewe 36

Junior – 1st E. Meadows 42, 2nd G. Casale 31, 3rd K. Gordon 30

Senior (Top 10) – 1st G. Stanton 40, 2nd M. Adams 39, 3rd M. Crutchington 34, 4th D. Binns 33, 5th A. Binns 31, 6th L. Ashcroft 29, 7th K. Murfin 28, 8th J. Higham 26, 9th N. Murfin 25, 10th J. Budd 24