Now Reading
The comeback kings! Kendal Classic Revival Scramble – Race Report and Results

The comeback kings! Kendal Classic Revival Scramble – Race Report and Results

by adminAugust 16, 2018

Twenty years after last running a Classic Scramble, the Westmorland Motor Club came out with all guns blazing, by organising the Kendal Classic Revival Meeting last Sunday, at the back of the County Showground near Crooklands.

Report by Geoff Shuttleworth – Images courtesy of Chris Montignani & Eric Miles

The Club had found an ideal piece of rolling grassland, which gave a superb track layout, and a very picturesque setting for the 130 riders and large crowd that came to see all the action. They had certainly put many hours in before the event, and it showed as the event ran like a well oiled machine.

CCM Motorcycles were the main sponsor, and guests included Austin Clews, Bob Wright, Sid Lampkin and Alan Clough. Other sponsors included Lloyd South Lakes, MGD, Wulfsport, Coniston Brewery and Taylors Funfair, who incidentally sponsored the club’s events as far back as 1938.

Mark Fulton

As Sunday dawned, the heavy overnight rain had naturally watered the track to perfection, and once practice was over, the top slippery surface had gone, and riders were railing the corners without hesitation.

The opening race of an ambitious 27 race programme, was the CCM race, and was flag started by former works CCM legend Bob Wright. It turned out to be a great battle between the sons of two former CCM stalwarts, as Jonathan Bethel got the better of Tony Barrow to take victory, and was presented the Norman Barrow Memorial Trophy by his wife Janet. Third went to Michael Lee, just in front of Colin Lee. Club member Kris Winder, had a superb undefeated day, and took the Honda Elsinore Race win, but was pushed hard by second place James Dent, with Chris Woodward in third.

Lewis Bell

In the Pre-60 class Luke Jackson stormed to three wins on his BSA, and then it was a pair of Tribsas with Simon Chell taking second from Steve Jackson. Luke Jackson also won the Pre-65 class, on a tie break from Norfolks Greg Radley, with Steve Jackson again in third.

Club Chairman Steve Dent won the Pre-68 up to 350 class from Geoff Taylor, and in the Over 350 class, Lewis Bell was the man to beat as he took two wins and a second, narrowly beating John Cash who was runner up. Herefords Phil Roberts took third from David Holt.

Kris Winder was on fire in the Pre-75 classes, and dominated the proceedings with a masterful display of riding taking six wins in the up to and over 250’s. Steve Denton took second in the 250 class beating Ian Robertson by just two points, and there was a three-way scrap for the runner up berth in the over 250’s, but Lewis Bell got the verdict by a single point from both Chris Chell and Jonathan Bethel.

Kris Winder remained undefeated all day on the Elsinore

Tony Barrow on the CCM was a surprised winner of the Pre-78 class, as although he won the first two races, he had a DNF in race three, but it was enough to give him victory. Lee Davies, gave his Hagon Yamaha a rare outing and came away with second, from Simon Chamberlain, James Place and Paul Leyland.

The Clubman class was probably the closest class of the day, with three riders separated by just a single point. But the winner on the day was Dave Godley on a 1957 Tribsa, on a tie break from Phil Speed on his Triumph and Karl Kavanagh in third. Robert Lawrence was fourth after winning race three.

The sheer speed of the classic bikes had to be seen to be believed, but then the Twinshock bikes took it up a further notch, with lap times over six seconds faster. There were six heats, with all riders getting three races to determine who qualified for the A and B finals. And although they never raced against each other in the heats, it soon became apparent it was going to be a gigantic battle between Mark ‘Full On’ Fulton on the Honda, and Herefords Joel Hughes on the big four stroke Husky, as they both reeled off three wins. Michael Smith sat behind the two winners, with three seconds and Ryan Ireland did likewise on the 250 Honda.

Joel Hughes

The Twinshock A final was a treat to watch, as Fulton led Hughes from the front, and both riders were on full chat, and used every part of the track to eke out an advantage, but it was Fulton who crossed the line first to take home the spoils, from a gallant Hughes in second. Chris Cannon was overjoyed at taking third, from John Littler and Michael Smith.

The Twinshock B final was another belter, with three four strokes going at it hammer and tongs up at the sharp end. And it was Lee Bateman, having his first ride on the Marsh HPF, who came first, just getting the better of the Cheshire sets Kevin Hall and Kev Bratt.

After a long days racing it was understandable why there was a low turnout of riders for the handicap races, but for the record the Classic one was won by Kris Winder, from Chris Lewis, Liston Bell and John Fleming, and the Twinshock one was won by John Littler, from Nigel Sowerby, Paul Bethel and Lee Davies.

The presentation was well attended, and all in all it was a fantastic day, and he club should be applauded for their efforts, as a lot of riders and spectators enjoyed a wonderful day.


CCM Race ; 1 Jonathan Bethel,  2 Tony Barrow,  3 Michael Lee,  4 Colin Lee,  5 Robert Lawrence,  6 Andrew Savage.

Honda Elsinore Race ;  1 Kris Winder,  2 James Dent,  3 Chris Woodward.

Clubman;  1 Dave Godley,  2 Phil Speed,  3 Karl Kavanagh,  4 Robert Lawrence.

Pre-60 ; 1 Luke Jackson,  2 Simon Chell,  3 Steve Jackson,  4 Mike Bell,  5 Mark Hardie.

Pre-65 ;  1 Luke Jackson,  2 Greg Radley,  3 Steve Jackson,  4 Liston Bell,  5 Peter Johnston,

6 Steve Shaw.

Pre-68 Up to 350;  1 Steve Dent,  2 Geoff Taylor.

Pre-68 Over 350 ; 1 Lewis Bell,  2 John Cash,  3 Phil Roberts,  4 David Holt,  5 John Pickering,  6 Peter Lockwood.

Pre-75 Up to 250;  1 Kris Winder,  2 Steve Denton,  3 Ian Robertson,  4 James Dent, 5 Chris Storey,  6 Rob Paine.

Pre-75 Over 250 ; 1 Kris Winder,  2 Lewis Bell,  3 Chris Chell,  4 Jonathan Bethel,  5 Greg Speed,  6 John Fleming.

Pre-78 ;  1 Tony Barrow,  2 Lee Davies,  3 Simon Chamberlain,  4 James Place,  5 Paul Leyland,  6 Craig Hunter.

Twinshock Heats Overall ; 1= Mark Fulton & Joel Hughes 75,  3 Michael Smith 74,  4 Ryan Ireland 71,  5 Chris Cannon 70,  6= Peter Williamson & John Littler 66.

Twinshock A Final ;  1 Mark Fulton,  2 Joel Hughes,  3 Chris Cannon,  4 John Littler,  5 Michael Smith,  6 Nigel Sowerby.

Twinshock B Final ;  1 Lee Bateman,  2 Kevin Hall,  3 Kev Bratt,  4 Michael Dobie,  5 Mike Van De Merwe,  6 Chris Kirkbride.

Classic Handicap ;  1 Kris Winder,  2 Chris Lewis,  3 Liston Bell,  4 John Fleming,  5 John Cash,  6 Chris Chell.

Twinshock Handicap ;  1 John Littler,  2 Nigel Sowerby,  3 Paul Bethel,  4 Lee Davies,  5 David Lamb.