Now Reading
Simpson wins at the Return of the Rhayader Evening Races! – Race Report, Highlights and Results

Simpson wins at the Return of the Rhayader Evening Races! – Race Report, Highlights and Results


Wednesday 29th April saw the long awaited and highly anticipated return of the Bodenham Enterprise Park/PAR Homes Ltd sponsored Rhayader Wednesday Evening Motocross races.

Report and Images by Vision Off Road Media

Some very high ticket riders were on the entry list… Shaun Simpson, Ryan Houghton, Taylor Hammal, Nathan Dixon, Brad Anderson, Ray Rowson, a previous winner, and some top welsh riders like Henry Williams and local enduro rider Alex Walton.

After Rowson took the early lead in moto 1, MXGP star Simpson soon made his intentions clear and moved into the top spot. With some misty rain in the air, vision was important and Simpson opted for tear offs as opposed to roll offs like many chose. After a couple of laps more 3 or 4 of the top 10 had lost their roll off canisters from roost as Simpson streamed away. At the end of the moto it was Simpson 1st, Houghton 2nd, who came from behind after a poor start, and even set the fastest lap of the race. MX2 rider Taylor Hammal finished in 3rd. The pro and expert classes were in the same race and Kieron Cooke won race one, with Jonathan Roderick-Evans in 2nd and Nathan Frayne 3rd.

In the 2nd moto, Simpson once again found an early lead and pushed from the first lap, however Ryan Houghton had a much better start and was pushing Simpson hard early on, however Shaun eventually slipped away from his clasp and took another victory. Houghton followed him home in 2nd and this time Nathan Dixon beat Taylor Hammal to P3. In the experts, Reagan Skinner took a slim victory over Kieron Cooke in moto 2 of just over a second, however this pair had a 6 second buffer ahead of third place rider Jonathan Roderick-Evans.

In the final moto it was RFX by Par Homes KTM rider Simpson who once again got out ahead of the pack. The third race was pretty much a re run of race 2 with a lot of bar banging and trading both positions and paint on the way! At the flag, it was the same top 4 as moto 2! Reagan Skinner took another victory in Moto 3 for the Expert class. This time he had nearer 2 seconds over Kieron Cooke, but still a very tight and hard fought battle between these two riders! It was Jonathan Roderick Evans in third once again!

In the Senior/vets 1st race it was Veteran Gary Davies who took the win from Iwan Roberts and Billy Jones. In moto 2 it was Gary Davies who took victory again, but this time it was Beta mounted Enduro rider, also in the vets, Tim Forman who came home in second just one second ahead of Iwan Roberts! In the final moto it was Davies once again who stamped his authority on the field making it 3 out of 3, and Iwan Roberts resumed his runner up position from moto 1. Tim Forman was third.

In the Ladies/Junior/Beginners Class it was Enduro ace Jane Daniels who flew to top honours in all three races and showed the boys and girls in her class what she is all about. Perhaps an unexpected winner coming into the event but a deserved one at that! In 2nd place in moto 1 was Junior rider Ieuan Brooks, and in third was Tanisha Thomas. In moto 2 it was once again Brooks in 2nd behind Daniels and fellow Junior Class rider and local man, Martin Rowan in third! In the final moto it was Tanisha Thomas who chased Daniels home, followed by a very good ride from Tryston Leysham in the Beginner class!

In the final race of the night, the ‘dash for cash’, there were a lot of people looking like they were in a hurry and wanted that prize fund but it was the Super Scotsman Shaun Simpson who took this win once again and Yamaha Rob Hooper Racing riders, Houghton and Hammal, who rounded out the top three.

The Rhayader Motor Club would like to thank all of the public and all of the event sponsors for their fantastic support. They hope you all enjoyed your evening and hope to see you all at the next event which will be an Evening Moto Duro on Wednesday Evening 12th June.