Now Reading
Packed to the rafters! Portsmouth MXC Presentation Evening 2018 – Report and Awards

Packed to the rafters! Portsmouth MXC Presentation Evening 2018 – Report and Awards

by adminDecember 4, 2018

With 500 guests arriving to the popular Novotel in Southampton, the scene was set for another outstanding Portsmouth MX Presentation & Awards Ceremony.

Report by Kay Kennedy – Images courtesy of Click466 Photography

With huge trophies on display, the riders eagerly waited to receive their silverware for all their hard work throughout the year. The club, as always, was honoured to have MXGP rider Shaun Simpson with them for another year – he now seems part of the Portsmouth family – and after a quick introduction, with Chairman Martin Bradbury on the mic, Shaun along with his assistant Kay handed out the trophies to the riders.

Feature image: Jamie Watson receiving his Rider of the Year award and stunning canvas from Shaun Simpson

The club would like to congratulate all the trophy winners, newly crowned club champions and perpetual trophy winners on the night.

Fabian Morrison with his massive array of silverware!! Well done Champ!!

In only his first year with the club, young Jamie Watson has definitely made an impression in the Big Wheel 85cc class, and despite the voting being very close as the deadline closed, the riders voted for Jamie to win the prestigious Rider of the Year award. Jamie has been a pleasure to watch, and has not only been a credit to himself but to his family, who were extremely proud as he received his award, number plate and beautiful canvas.

Triple VMX Champ Wildman Willis standing on the top step, with Tony Hale in second, and Daniel Cavanagh in third

Massive congratulations must go to VMX superman Wildman Willis, who secured his third 2018 championship title on the night, following success at East Anglia SSC and later that evening with Kensworth MXC, where he rushed off to after he had collected his silverware from Portsmouth. A brilliant achievement!!

The Kennett family – Luke, Troy & Casey – and young Auto rider Fabian Junior Morrison came away with more than their fair share of awards, and must be congratulated on what has been a successful season for them all.

With the trophies out of the way, the ladies of the club were recognised for their hard work, all receiving stunning bouquets from the Club’s President Ray Chandler.

Then the party started, with the raffle, disco and photo booth all in full swing into the early hours!

Thanks must go to Kay Kennedy and the Portsmouth Committee for organising the event, and to Kay, Martin Bradbury, Sherry & Steve Rogers, and all the Portsmouth officials for all the hard work they have put in to running the club during the year.

The club would also like to thank all 2018 members and families for their continuing support and look forward to seeing everyone back for another year of racing in 2019. It’s going to be a busy one, and hopefully even more successful than this year!

The 2018 club champions are as follows:
Auto: Fabian Junior Morrison
Junior: Mitchell Woodward
Small Wheel 85: Max Brazier
Big Wheel 85: Charlie Nightingale
Rookies: Preston Williams
MX1: Nicky Watts
MX2: Luke Kennett
VMX: Wildman Willis

Consistency Trophy: Auto – Fabian Junior Morrison, Junior – Kieran Paget, Small Wheel 85 – Tyler Kirby, Big Wheel 85 – Domonic Newbury, Rookies – Liam Brosnan, MX1 – Steven Holmes, MX2 – Luke Kennett, VMX – Tony Hale.

Trier Shields: Auto – Oliver Cutler, Junior – Charlie Cook, Small Wheel 85 – Alfie Lidgley, Big Wheel 85 – Callum Loader, Rookies – Dane Boe Lidgley, MX1 – Michael Anthony, MX2 – Alex Griffiths, VMX – Dave Benfield.

Freeman Frostbite Trophy: Auto – Troy Kennett, Junior – Kieran Paget, Small Wheel 85 – Tyler Kirby, Big Wheel 85 – James O’Mara, Rookies – Sonny Smyth, MX1 – Nicky Watts, MX2 – Todd Leadbitter, VMX – Wildman Willis.

Swanmore Triple Crown: Auto – Fabian Junior Morrison, Junior – Mitchell Woodward, Small Wheel 85 – Aidan Brooks, Big Wheel 85 – Charlie Nightingale, Rookies – Preston Williams, MX1 – Jay Harris, MX2 – Luke Kennett, VMX – Wildman Willis.

Most Improved Rider: Ryan Turner
Most Improved Auto: Frankie Stacey
Most Promising Newcomer: Jack Sankey
Most Consistent Rider: Fabian Junior Morrison
Girl Trier: Holleigh-Ann Manktelow
Girl Rider: Stella Milsted
Holeshot Award: Preston Williams
Most Improved Rookie: Zak Chadd
Sportsman of the Year: Fabian Morrison (Senior)
Worker of the Year: PMXC Committee & Officials
Parent & Child Trophy: Luke & Troy Kennett
Rider of the Year: Jamie Watson