Now Reading
Majestic Miller! MCF British Quad XC Championship Round 7 – Race Report and Results

Relax to Race

Majestic Miller! MCF British Quad XC Championship Round 7 – Race Report and Results



The DQR club welcomed a healthy turn out of riders to its penultimate round of the 2019 ATVs Only British XC Championship, supported by GML ATV. The ever-popular Langs Farm venue again provided a challenging circuit with a mix of terrain and conditions.

Report by Jenni Foulkes – Quad Magazine Online – Images courtesy of Nigel Torrens Photography

As is customary, the Youth riders kick-started the meeting with the 125, 250s and Hybrids out on track first. The faster Hybrid riders put in the most laps with nine apiece for first-on-track and in class, Tom Bainbridge, followed by Daniel Barrow. Ethan Best was third. The Youth 250s were massively competitive with the top four of Charlie Wheatley, McKenzie Evans, Cai Evans Evans and James Maybury all lapping within 40 seconds of each other and all on eight laps at the end of the race. Louie Holt was impressive in the Youth 125 class. He continued his string of class wins and, as the only 125cc rider to post eight laps, wasn’t far off the pace of the 250s. He took the victor’s spoils ahead of Morgan Junge and Dayton Thompson.

The youngest race group catering for Miniquad 50 and 90s was won overall by Jake Robinson, followed by Owain Dafydd and Owen Stephens in the larger-capacity category. Harriet Mewse continued to dominate the 50s with another solid win to add to her impressive run ahead of Braydon Grounds.

The afternoon’s Adult sessions saw the top two Adult Expert + riders in the form of Harry Miller and Alex Bethell out front, both on 14 laps and both with best lap times of under 10 minutes. They were joined on the podium by Luke Davies. Fourth of the start line, Miller bounced between the lead, second and the back of the pack until he recovered on lap nine and then hit the front, a position he held to the chequered flag. Bethell had a more consistent race, staying in the top three throughout. Davies was unfortunate when he lost a lot of time in the woods thanks to machine issues, but he still managed to finish third. Tiago Gomes was the only Expert rider to complete 14 laps and take the class win, followed by John Chew and Miles Woodward.

The 4×4 Heavy machines featured next in the overall race stakes, with class winner Stuart Marley and runner up Simon David also posting 14 laps each, whilst third-in-class Jason Wildman was 12th overall. Bradley Price topped the 4×4 Clubman group but he was kept honest by Laura Linton who raced an equal number of 14 laps, put in a better fastest lap time, and was just seconds off the class win at the flag. Richard Harvey was third. The 4×4 Lights was won by Stuart Mowbray with Lathan Pritchard second and Mark Williams third.

Will Dunlop in the Clubman was the last of the adult riders to finish on 14 laps, Daniel Evans and Dale Roberts were next up. Meanwhile Lestyn Rees, Josh Talent and Jake Best rounded out the Sportsman sector.

The final of the 2019 ATVs Only MCF British XC Championship takes place on the 6th of October at  Greenhall Farm, Llanfyllin.

More information is available at www.dqracing.co.uk

Well done to all the winners today and each and every rider who took part!

A big Thanks to our Title Sponsor ATV’s Only and associate GML ATV for the support this season and to DB waterworks who sponsor our Mini Quad Series and to the Marshalls, Medics, photographer and Caterers who make the events possible.


1. Harry Miller (Expert +), 2. Alex Bethell (Expert +), 3. Tiago Gomes (Expert), 4. Stuart Marley (4×4 Heavy), 5. Simon David (4×4 Heavy), 6. Bradley Price (4×4 Clubman), 7. Laura Linton (4×4 Clubman), 8. Richard Harvey (4×4 Clubman), 9. Stuart Mowbray (4×4 Lights), 10. Will Dunlop (Clubman).

1. Tom Bainbridge (Hybrid), 2. Daniel Barrow (Hybrid), 3. Charlie Wheatley (250), 4. Mckenzie Evans (250), 5. Cai Evans (250), 6. James Maybury (250), 7. Ethan Best (Hybrid), 8. Louie Hold (125), 9. Morgan Junge (125), 10. Oliver Pinder (250).

1. Jake Robson (90), 2. Owain Dafydd (90), 3. Owen Stephens (90), 4. Isabelle Lloyd (90), 5. Harriet Mewse (50), 6. Braydon Grounds (50), 7. William Harden (90).