Now Reading
Hot to Trot. SMC Motocross & Kamar ACU Clubmans Sidecar Championship – Race Report and Results

Hot to Trot. SMC Motocross & Kamar ACU Clubmans Sidecar Championship – Race Report and Results

by adminSeptember 15, 2018

Another hot dry day at Long Buckby as the hot summer rolled on. The circuit was in great shape after a lot of work refinishing and widening the track had taken place before this meeting. The new pond was put to good effect to minimise dust as much as possible. It was great to be joined by the Kamar ACU British Amateur Sidecar Championships who attracted a lot of spectators.

Report by Fraser Law – Images courtesy of

Paul Burn continued his recent run of good form to take the overall in the Expert Class with two wins out of three. Aiden Maloney took the first race victory and came out second overall despite some close racing with third-placed Gary Barnes. In the Junior A group race wins went to Rob Harwood and Tom Thierens, both suffering issues in the other race that cost them overall. First place with two consistent seconds was Cameron Curtis. Paul Burdett finished second overall ahead of Ashley Rilings in third. Bryan Rouse took the win in the Junior B class after an incredibly close race with Lee Keyton. Lee caught and passed Bryan, only to be repassed on the final lap. Alexander Churchill finished a comfortable third.

Simon Wyse

In the Sidecar class Josh Haynes and Scott Balsillie took commanding wins in both their races. Daniel Goodall and Liam Hodges finished second first time out, while Robert Oldfield and Dan Phelps were a close second in race two. Second place overall went to Robert Foden and Harley Lloyd who finished consistently third in both legs. Robert Moss and Ryan Henderson claimed the final step on the podium.

The Premier O40 class saw some close racing at the front between Laurence Wiltshire, Simon Wyse and Cliff Lester. Laurence took the overall win with a second and a first place. Simon Wyse ended up second overall with a first and a third, Cliff Lester third overall with a third and a second. Close racing as usual saw Fraser Law just edge the overall from Greg Cox. Greg took the win in race one after Fraser overcame a first turn incident, Fraser took victory second time out. Steve Bottoms and Stephen Gilbey tied on points for third after trading third and fourth places. Reg Willis took the overall in the Super O60 class from Richard Jochacy, again on a tie-breaker as they finished equal on points with a win and a second each.

Rob Foden

Connor Dickens and Joseph Wright both won a race each in the U40 class, Connor taking the overall. Tom King finished third just ahead of Ash Rilings. Joseph Wright also finished first overall in the combined 2 Stroke class, this time ahead of Tony Leishman and Bradley Clarke.

An unfortunate accident in the final block of races meant racing had to finish early, no county ambulances being available for 4.5 hours…



Expert: 1 Paul Burn, 2 Aiden Maloney, 3 Gary Barnes, 4 Bradley Clarke, 5 Connor Dickens
Junior A: 1 Cameron Curtis, 2 Paul Burdett, 3 Ashley Rilings, 4 Tim Soane, 5 Tom Thierens, 6 Edward Pegram
Junior B: 1 Bryan Rouse, 2 Lee Keyton, 3 Alex Churchill, 4 Aaron Read, 5 Jason Mills, 6 Declan Rouse
Kamar Sidecars: 1 Josh Haynes / Scott Balsillie, 2 Robert Foden / Harley Lloyd, 3 Robert Moss / Ryan Henderson, 4 Jon Rutherford / Elliot Browne, 5 Daniel Goodall / Liam Hodges, 6 Matthew Connor / Jim Kinge

Premier O40: 1 Laurence Wiltshire, 2 Simon Wyse, 3 Cliff Lester, 4 Antony Leishman, 5 John Barnes, 6 Marc Bates
Elite O50: 1 Fraser Law, 2 Greg Cox, 3 Steve Bottoms, 4 Stephen Gilbey, 5 Kevin Franklin, 6 Richard Diggens
Super O60: 1 Reg Willis, 2 Richard Jochacy, 3 Trevor Bedford, 4 Steve Pestell, 5 Trevor Roberts, 6 Roger Knibbs
U40: 1 Connor Dickens, 2 Joseph Wright, 3 Tom King, 4 Ash Rilings, 5 Alex Churchill, 6 Ian Tindle
2st: 1 Joe Wright, 2 Antony Leishman, 3 Bradley Clarke, 4 Alex Churchill, 5 Ian Tindle, 6 Max Nethaway
Workers: 1 Fraser Law, 2 Cameron Curtis, 3 Helen Morgan, 4 James Higgins, 5 Miles Woodhouse, 6 Nathan Skinner

Helen Morgan