Now Reading


The guys at Grasstrack Banter have once again hosted their awesome awards from the 2017 season with their group members voting in their droves.

Feature image courtesy of Linda Kirkland

So here is a list of the awards winners for 2017, who will receive their awards at the Wessex Centre Champs/Grasstrack Banter Awards night in Bristol, taking place on February 3rd. Tickets are available from either Mary Holley and Luke Russell for the event.

Here are the winners…

Starting with our special awards for particularly impressive performances this season. These were also influenced heavily by the nominating process..
PROMISING RIDER OF THE YEAR– These awards are for racers who we all expect huge things for soon, but in 2017, we saw glimmers of brilliance from them. Many of us can’t wait to see how these stars progress in the coming seasons…

PROMISING SOLO: Charlie Brooks- Charlie started the season in sensational form. There’s no doubting his ability on a motorcycle. We can’t wait to see what’s to come from the youngster.

PROMISING SIDECAR: Kieran Hicks/Robbie Simmons- What a tremendous talent these two have. We should all be getting behind these youngsters as they are the future.

PROMISING YOUTH: Aidan Arthur- he’s shown himself to be a race winner in 2017, and long may it continue.

GRASSTRACK BANTER JOURNEYMAN AWARD: Tim Greig- Tim’s dedication to racing this season must be recognised. He’s clocked up so many miles and was rarely off the rostrum. He also smashed the Gradings List.

COMEBACK KING OF THE YEAR: Graham Thomas and Wayne Broadhurst- We couldn’t decide between these two. Both legends, and great to have both back.

OVERSEAS PERFORMER OF THE YEAR: Mitchel Godden/Paul Smith- These two have been amazing in Europe and their efforts must be recognised. European Number 4 crew.

The big one….The 2017 PEOPLE’S CHAMPION…
Ryan Ashcroft (for the second year in a row!)- Ryan remains as popular as ever with our members, grabbing nominations for his exploits in both the 350 and 500 class this season.

PERFORMANCE OF THE YEAR: Richard Webb/Jake Pope- What they achieved at the British Championships this season beggars belief!