Dirt Track
Now Reading
First blood to Birtwhistle! Indian Motorcycles DTRA Nationals and Hooligans Round 1 – Race Report and Results

First blood to Birtwhistle! Indian Motorcycles DTRA Nationals and Hooligans Round 1 – Race Report and Results


The 2019 DTRA Nationals and Hooligans championships, supported by Indian Motorcycles, kicked off (as is now tradition) at the Adrian Flux Arena, King’s Lynn over the weekend of 13th and 14th April.

Report by the DTRA – Feature images courtesy of Tom Bing. Other action Images courtesy of Tom Bing and Braking Point Images

The spectacular racing from contenders old and new – and on their equally spectacular, old and new machines – promises that we’re in for another memorable year, which is bound to be full of surprises.

Here’s your round-up of Round 1 of these two championships, along with the results from each class so you know who to keep your eye on as the season progresses.

Saturday – Adult Inters, Pros and Hooligans

A record entry of Inter and Pro riders lined up for the first round of the 2019 series, with a total of 62 riders battling to qualify for 32 places in the main event. Riders from Spain, Holland, France and Italy took to the track alongside the UK riders to give the event an international feel.

The practice and qualifying races was dominated by the Greenfield Dirt Track team who took the top 3 spots as we headed into the evening programme. But it was Gary Birtwistle (#11) who was able to take a convincing win in the main event, leading from the second lap until the chequered flag.

Picture by Tom Bing

Toby Hales, the current Pro number one, had an unlucky fall which saw him drop a lap down. It was Spanish riders Gerard Bailo (#17) and Ferran Sastre (#215) who were left to challenge Birtwistle for the rest of the race, with Franc Serra (#15) running 4th – rounding out a Spanish 2nd, 3rd and 4th finish, and proving that our home-grown Pro riders shouldn’t get too comfortable just yet.

The Inter class was also hotly contested with Simon Parkin (#139) making his way all the way through to the last-chance qualifier of the main event and taking a well deserved top step on the podium, followed by ‘Texas’ Chris Jenner (#134) in 2nd place and Conrad Little (#69) in 3rd.

Pro results

1st Gary Birtwistle
2nd Gerard Bailo
3rd Ferran Sastre
4th Franc Serra
5th Maikel Dijkstra

Adult Inters results

1st Simon Parkin
2nd Chris Jenner
3rd Conrad Little

In the Hooligans class it was our man of the meeting, and defending champion, Gary Birtwistle who led from the start. He was under pressure from a group of riders, but it was Max Hunt (#243) who managed to break away behind him, with an epic battle for the remaining podium spot between Vinnie Snell (#148), Leah Tokelove (#37) and her Krazy Horse teammate, Lee Kirkpatrick. It was Tokelove who managed to make her moves stick and take the third spot on the podium.

Picture by Tom Bing

Hooligan results

1st Gary Birtwistle
2nd Max Hunt
3rd Leah Tokelove
4th Lee Kirkpatrick
5th Vinnie Snell

Sunday – Youths, Minibikes, Rookies, Thunderbike and Vintage

Day two at the Adrian Flux Arena saw 120 riders take their places in over 60 races for the remaining classes.

Our Youth classes continue to grow in size every year, and some new riders really helped to add to the fun.

Youth Junior results

1st Wyatt Hopkins
2nd Oscar Osbourne Wilkes
3rd Alfie Croft

Youth Inters results

1st Thomas Hunt
2nd Charlie Kelly
3rd Dan Mason

Youth Senior results

1st Jack Bell
2nd Archie May
3rd Luke Gardner

All 3 bikes on the Minibike Modified class podium were Sunday Motors, as YCF’s Freddy Trott Jnr (#253) took the top spot, followed by Dimitri Coste (#67) and Franck Casoli (#23).

Minibike Modified results

1st Freddy Trott Jnr
2nd Dimitri Coste
3rd Franc Casoli

Next up, in Stock Minibikes, close racing continued to be the signature of this class. Dakar rider Max Hunt took 1st, with ex-British Superbikes rider Paul Young (#75) hot on his heels.

Picture by Braking Point Images

Champions Flat Track School Minibike Stock results

1st Max Hunt
2nd Paul Young
3rd Jez Scott

In the Rookies class, 38 riders – some of whom were competing for the first time – did battle over three heats to qualify for the final. It was James Smith (#143) who took the class win ahead of Liam Worton (#167) who is returning from a year off from racing, with newcomer Fabio Gomes (#71) on a rented bike completing the podium.

Rookie results

1st James Smith
2nd Liam Worton
3rd Fabio Gomes

Picture by Braking Point Images

The Thunderbike class saw a stacked grid of 26 600cc and above machines battling out for a 12 rider final. It was great to see the return of Tom Clemans (#42) who led the final from beginning to end. There was an epic battle behind him for the 2nd and 3rd spots between Jon Bell (#18) and Dan Ridge (#28), but it was Ridge who managed to hold off Bell for the second spot.

Sportax Thunderbike results

1st Tom Clemans
2nd Dan Ridge
3rd Jon Bell

Some impressive new vintage bikes and riders made for a really exciting start to the 2019 season. Ross Jackson (#130), who missed much of the 2018 season due to work commitments, rode fantastically all day to win both the Two Stroke class and the overall top spot in the final, followed by Mike Fisher (#80) and Sean Kelly (#33).

The Four Stroke class was won by veteran rider Paul Harrison (#4), who was followed home by Carl Swateridge (#257) and Jon Dyer (#101).

Picture by Tom Bing

Sideburn Vintage results

Two Stroke

1st Ross Jackson
2nd Mike Fisher
3rd Sean Kelly

Four Stroke

1st Paul Harrison
2nd Carl Swateridge
3rd Jon Dyer

Thank you to all of our riders and spectators that joined us for Round 1 of the Nationals championship, we’re pleased to say that it was a really smooth weekend and everyone went home safely, and many with big smiles on their faces. The next race will be Round 1 of our brand new Euros championship (incorporating Round 2 of our Hooligans championship) at Hells Race, Speedway Lelystad, Netherlands

We’ve also just opened entries for Round 2 of the Nationals championship, which will be taking place at the MCN Festival of Motorcycling, Peterborough, on May 18th and 19th.

For more information on the DTRA go to https://www.dirttrackriders.co.uk