Now Reading
Champions assemble! 2019 Formula Grasstrack Association Presentation and 2020 Fixtures released!

Relax to Race

Champions assemble! 2019 Formula Grasstrack Association Presentation and 2020 Fixtures released!



Formula Grasstrack Association’s champions gathered two weeks ago at the Prees Cricket and Recreation Club near Whitchurch, Shropshire.

Belle Vue and Australia manager and former Australian international speedway star MARK LEMON was guest of honour for the evening and spoke to Gary Hollingsworth about his childhood down under and about his career.

Images courtesy of Linda Mulvey

Ollie Binns was the major winner in the Cub category, taking home the association title alongside the Tom Thomas memorial and Whitchurch club title. Joe Crewe would clinch the most improved Cub for a second year running and the Jonathan Rodgers memorial title.

Billy Budd was to be the first name on the brand new Junior fga Cup. The original shield dated back to 1974 and was full on both sides, with names including Mark Wadsworth, Graham Jones, Tom Perry and Adam Roynon to name a small few. Budd also took top honours in the Whitchurch championship. Jake Breeze went on to be voted youth rider of 2019 and Sam Hall won the junior Jonathan Rodgers title. Newcomer for 2019, Ryan Bow would claim the Wrekin Cub title and was over the moon to have his name alongside former winner Tom Perry.

2019 senior champion Martin Adams was unable to attend but his youngest daughter Sophie was there to pick up his winnings. Adams had a stellar year, taking home the Jonathan Rodgers title, Tom Thomas memorial title and the senior fga title. Runner up, Glyn Stanton was also one to collect plenty of silverware. Stanton won both Wrekin and Whitchurch club titles to join his second place in the association championship. Steve Mace won the adult riders rider award for the second season in a row and will be a silver lining to his retirement from the sport. Marcus Crutchington won the most improved senior. Veteran award went to the ever consistent Russell Hall.

Changes to the championship front runners are expected in 2020 with Billy Budd and Katie Gordon looking to focus more on speedway rather than grasstrack and Sam Hall stepping up to the senior class where he will be a threat to the top ten. Junior championship hopes may lie with Jake Breeze, Joe Crewe and Ryan Bow.

In the Seniors, Stanton and Adams have both hinted at doing less of the fga to focus on other classes leaving the door open to Liam Ashcroft to join his brother on the senior trophy should he wish to take part. David and Andy Binns are both expected to line up at the start for 2020 and of course, Marcus Crutchington is expected to continue his rise through the senior ranks. Returnees Rob Fortune and Gary Finlow will be expected to be running at the front and be potential winners.

What we do know is numbers will continue to grow with newcomers starting in all classes when the tapes go up on April 4th.

2020 provisional fixtures

April 4th Malpas- Whitchurch mcc
April 11th Malpas (rain off option for 4th April) – Whitchurch MCC
April 25th Malpas – Whitchurch MCC
May 23rd Chetton – Wrekin GTC
June 13th Alveley – Wrekin GTC
June 27th Shawbury – Minsterley MC
July 11th & 12th Gresford (Saturday and Sunday) – Whitchurch MCC
August 1st Shawbury – Minsterley MC
August 22nd Malpas – Whitchurch MCC
September 5th Malpas – Whitchurch MCC
September 26th Malpas – Whitchurch MCC
October 10th Alveley – Wrekin GTC