Now Reading
Binns, Budd & Adams crowned! 2019 Formula Grasstrack Championships – Season Review

Relax to Race

Binns, Budd & Adams crowned! 2019 Formula Grasstrack Championships – Season Review



Minsterley Motor Club lost their battle with the weather when they had to cancel their Formula Grasstrack meeting on Friday, the day before it was scheduled. What was billed as the final FGA meeting of 2019, was going to be a fantastic meeting and bring the curtain down on a successful year on the 125cc machines.

Report  by Ross Wharton – Images courtesy of Dean Langford, Linda Mulvey and Ross Wharton

It does mean the Championship is now complete after 7 of the 9 intended rounds, and Ollie Binns, Billy Budd & Martin Adams have secured their titles in their respective classes.

Binns Junior has been sensational in his first season in the 9-12 Cub class. Only finishing off the top step once in 7 Rounds. Runner Up for the second season in a row, Joe Crewe beat Harry Fletcher by 2 points. Crewe will step up to the Junior category in 2020.

Billy Budd hit the ground running at the start of the season taking victory in the first 3 meetings to help him clinch the title by 2 points ahead of the late charging Sam Hall. Budd will add his Junior title to the Cub one he won in 2018. Hall will move into the Senior category in 2020 and will no doubt be pushing for top 10 places. Jake Breeze had a solid start to his Grasstrack life, the newcomer taking the 3rd step on the rostrum and will be one to watch in the Junior class in 2020.

Martin Adams is now the Double Senior Champion, Winning by 7 points ahead of archrival Glyn Stanton. Although both had taken two meeting wins out of a possible 7, Adams Consistency was key in claiming the crown. Liam Ashcroft also took two meeting wins but missing two meetings due to a flight delay coming back from holiday and a clash of meetings ruined his title hopes for this year. The youngster just edging out Steve Mace by one solitary point for 3rd overall. Mace will be happy with his performance in 2019 after starting the year off with a broken wrist. Truck Mechanic Marcus Crutchington took 5th place improving on his 2018 position, Crutchington has made the step up to the 350cc class which has undoubtedly improved his 125cc game no end. Former international Speedway & Grasstrack man Rob Fortune made a return to his roots within the FGA, after beginning on the BSA Bantams, Fortune has swapped the 500cc class for the 125cc pit bike type power unit and, as expected been a frontrunner, taking 6th place. Fortune will be a force in 2020.

Dave Binns finished one spot ahead of brother Andy in 7th and 8th respectively, whilst Dave missed 2 meetings. 9th Place went to Gloucester’s Mark Furley who beat Shropshire’s Colin How by one point. How Rounds out the Top 10 After having some bike issues in a couple of meetings.

The FGA AGM will take place on Sunday 1st December at Prees Cricket & recreation Ground at 12pm. And the 2019 Awards evening will be Saturday 15th February at the same venue. More details at


1st Ollie Binns 148, 2nd Joe Crewe 135, 3rd Harry Fletcher 133

1st Billy Budd 147, 2nd Sam Hall 145, 3rd Jake Breeze 141

1st Martin Adams 144, 2nd Glyn Stanton 137, 3rd Liam Ashcroft 119, 4th Steve Mace 118, 5th Marcus Crutchington 111, 6th Rob Fortune 109, 7th Dave Binns 107, 8th Andy Binns 94, 9th Mark Furley 89, 10th Colin How 88