Now Reading
The Stars are out on Good Friday for the Huck Cup including Coppins, Mewse, Whatley, EBB, Nicholls..

The Stars are out on Good Friday for the Huck Cup including Coppins, Mewse, Whatley, EBB, Nicholls..

by adminMarch 29, 2018

A star studded line up will be traversing onto Marshfield terrain this Good Friday as the 29th staging of the Mike

The Spirit of Hucks lives on!

Brown Memorial Motocross incorporating the Huck Cup takes place.

Feature image courtesy of Dave Rich

Mike Brown was the brother of Alan, and the Uncle of Alans son Tom who both run the Motoxtreme MX Shop and Kawasaki dealership in Marshfield village itself and who run the event.

Tom tells us more “My uncle Mike was a influential figure in the local motocross scene and was big on the AMCA scene in the 80’s, and it was him who actually got the Marshfield track in the first place.  Mike was sadly killed in a work accident in 1988 and my Dad has been running the Mike Brown Memorial Trophy since 1989.  Right from the start it was well attended with big names from the area like Mike Church and Chris Bryan, and the big names have kept coming. In 2006 three times World Champion won the meeting and in 2007 it was Neil Hudson”.

Sadly another big member of the Marshfield motocross community Mark Hucklebridge lost his fight against Cancer last year, and in 2017 the Huck Cup was incorporated into the Event.

Tom continued “Hucks was a big friend of my mine from an early age, and he was to most people on the Motocross circuit.  He was an inspiration to us all to the very end, and it’s fitting that some of the sports biggest names are turning out to ride in his honour, with many others sending Social Media messages of support.  The line up this year is amazing and I can’t wait to seem them all out on track.”

In fact the Huck Cup is a who’s who of British Motocross racing with World MX star Conrad Mewse lining up along side Kristian Whatley, Jake Nicholls, Elliot Banks Browne and Ryan Houghton, on top of some big names from not too far past like New Zealander Josh Coppins, former British Champion Stephen Sword, Tom Church and reigning champion Luke Hawkins.

Last years winner Simon Bracey will be back to defend his Mike Brown Memorial trophy title and he will have to battle out with a full line up of local Motocross racers all out to get their hands on the coveted silverware.

Practice will start at 9.30am with racing looking to start at about 12noon.  Entry is just £5 so an absolute bargain, with refreshments and Trade stands on hand.  The postcode for the venue is SN14 8LJ.  With 2 X 20minutes moto’s per class the aim is to be finished so that people still have time to travel back and enjoy the rest of their Good Friday.

For more info on the meeting visit the event’s facebook page:

Here are the full line up’s

The Huck Cup

Conrad Mewse #426
Kristian Whatley #227
Josh Coppins #6
Jake Nicholls #45
Elliot Banks-Browne #44
Ryan Houghton #119
Neville Bradshaw #272
Luke Hawkins #8
Stephen Sword #7
Brian Wheeler #1
Tom Church #24
Josh Waterman #19
John May #35
Todd Kellett #98
Luke Dean #52
Bradley Wheeler #15
Ben Franklin #300
Jasper Uphill #511
Brett Revell #120
James Dodd #292
Chuck Davies #102
Jamie Skuse #600
Jordan Carter #3
Ryan Zebedee #140
Shane Carless #68
Ricky Brown #511
Corey Hockey 54
Jed Stockham #51
Alex Morrisios #877
Ben Hunt #301
Ben Hunt #301
Ty Kellett #198
Elliott Barrs #611
Joshua Mcgill #55
Luke Redstone #803
Luke Smith #275

The Mike Brown Memorial Trophy

Rich Vincent #711
Nial Carroll #35
Christian Mcgill #1
Mark Mcgill #111
Simon Bracey #452
Ryan Poolman #104
Darren Kennington #16
Jamie Bailey #76
Kevin Woolford #49
Mark Sterry #136
James Baker #10
Jesse Say #93
Richard Hughes #141
Craig Potter #123
Richard Dors #75
Samuel Mercer #210
Chris Taylor #72
Mark Dudley #270
Mark Taylor #11
Carl Chambers #109
Cameron Curtis #23
Billy Saunders #4
David Stone #47
Chris Stone #46
Patrice Belcher #402
Nick Keen #55
Shaun Willis #100
Neil Long #58
Steve Fews #37
Davide Price #108
Ricky Britton #44
Adrian Smith #171
Adrian Saunders #40
Louis Harmer #79
David White #444
Rupert Gabriel #13