Now Reading
Pitting their Wits! The Pitbike Speedway Championship Kick’s off this weekend!

Pitting their Wits! The Pitbike Speedway Championship Kick’s off this weekend!

by adminNovember 17, 2017

The Pitbike Speedway Championships stages it’s opening round this weekend down at the Iwade Speedway Circuit near Sittingbourne and once again it has attracted a mighty fine array of oval sport talent in a full line up of racers.

Images Courtesy of Graham Marsh

This Sunday 19th November will be the first round of the series with other rounds in the diary on Sunday 3rd December 3rd , which will take place on the longer track, then on Saturday December 30th with further dates to ve added in January, February and March.

The racing is fast and furious as you can expect from racing in the tight and slick confines with 5 racers on the track at the same time with the top 5 point scorers from 5 heat races qualifying through to the A final which is run over 6 laps with 7 riders taking part. Heat races are over 4 laps. Those who don’t qualify direct to the A final go into the D, C or B finals depending on their heat scores with the top two from each of these finals stepping up to the next final’s 2nd grid.   The big thing about these events is the fun aspect and that’s why the meetings are always fully booked up. 

Last years Champion, Speedway and Grasstrack ace is missing from the line up but, Runner Up from last season Rob Mear and 3rd placed Mitch Godden are both present and will be looking to get an edge in the first round.  Other notable entrants this weekend are the super talented Speedway Teenager Tom Brennan and another young Speedway racer Alfie Bowtell, but don’t rule out Benny Read, Charley Powell and Dan Berwick.

The Full line up is:

1. Luke Russell 112
2. Benny Read 26
3. Paul Knott 94
4. Mitchel Godden 9
5. Steve Andrews 49
6. Rob Mear 151
7. Chad Wirtzfeld 69
8. Charley Powell 92
9. Jeremy Skipp 64
10. Lee Bassett 3
11. Matt Sauly 19
12. Rob Heath 18
13. Jake Gerring 23
14. Josh Russell 100
15. Lester Denham 1
16. Murrie Collins 88
17. Jason Newitt 80
18. Brandon Freemantle Bfr 199
19. Dan Berwick 68
20. Jay Pearce 15
21. Alfie Bowtell 202
22. Chris Stanton Wharmby 20
23. Chris Shallcross 167
24. Tom Brennan 27
25. Luke Fitz-John 166
26. Jamie Bursill 25
27. Peter Koren 63
28. Sam Heath 01634 830000
29. Warren Atkinson 212

The Event Schedule is:
Breakfast at Mac’s 09:00
Signing on 09:30
Bike start 10:00
Free Practice 10:00 > 10:30
1st Race 11:00

For more info on the series see the Pitbike Speedway group on Facebook.