Now Reading
Old MacDonald Had A Win ……. Portsmouth MXC Club Championship Round 1 – Race Report and Results

Old MacDonald Had A Win ……. Portsmouth MXC Club Championship Round 1 – Race Report and Results

by adminFebruary 27, 2018

Everyone was fed up with being stuck indoors, and the numbers certainly proved this, nearly 300 riders booked in for the opening “summer” round of Portsmouth MX Club’s championship. Sub-zero temperatures and a biting wind didn’t deter any of the riders, and with the Auto’s leading the way, the day started on time, and was all finished with plenty of daylight spare.

Report by Kay Kennedy – Images courtesy of Click466

A mixed bag of riders tried to secure victory, Jake Webb romping home to the first race win, but was unable to keep Arash Deering from charging to the front in the closing motos.  Despite Deering bagging two wins, Webb clinched the overall victory going 1-2-2, a great start to his season.  Deering finished in second overall with Jayden Neale following the leading duo home to go 3-3-4 to finish in third overall.

In the 65 class, Travis Barnes and Noel Brooks went head-to-head to grab supremacy, both riders securing and race win and second place.  But it was to be Mitchell Woodward who held back in the opening motos, waiting for a chance to pounce if either of the leading duo made a mistake, finishing in third in both races.  He saved the best for last and stole the show with a great race win to snatch away the overall, with Brooks in second and Barnes in third.

The small wheel 85s were out next, and Connor Williams must have had his Weetabix as he blasted out the gate and stormed straight into the lead, holding onto his first place with ease.  Another race win in race two secured his first overall of the season, a sign of things to come!  Max Brazier wasn’t far behind, and tasted a slice of victory for himself in the final moto, a perfect race rewarding him with a first added to his second and third to give him second overall.  Aidan Brooks secured the final podium position after scoring a brilliant third place in the opening moto, going 3-5-5.

In the bigger wheeled class, Charlie Nightingale started his season off with a bang, a confident ride providing his first race win of the year, and looked set for two more.  Two other riders took charge of the group for the rest of the day, but Nightingale still held on to top spot, going 1-2-3.  Dominic Newbury was back fully charged and injury free, working his way through the field in each moto. He saved the best for last and a brilliant race win ensured he finished in the top flight, second overall a great reward for his efforts.  Newcomer Jamie Watson certainly stamped his mark on the group, a definite contender for a podium at the end of the year.  Despite not managing to grab a first, after Robert Storer took the second race win, his consistent riding secured him third spot, going 2-5-2.

The MX1 class was stacked with talent, but Liam Knight blew the rest of the field away with his speed.  Nobody could touch him and he came away with three comfortable wins and the overall.  Anyone could have taken the runner up spot as a group of riders battled it out behind Knight, but Charlie Putnam stole the spot away from his rivals, after a disappointing opening moto he stormed into second place in the remaining races to finish second overall.  Marley Willegers didn’t have the best of starts either, but redeemed himself and worked his way up into third spot, going 10-3-4.

MX2 was jam-packed, a full gate providing some outstanding racing.  Luke Kennett was back to his winning ways, determined to retain his championship title, going 1-2-1 he secured the overall.  Cam MacDonald was a contender for rider of the meeting, an outstanding performance from him after being off the track for over a year.  He kept his sights on the top prize, a brilliant race win in race two boosting his confidence, and ended the day in second overall, going 2-1-2.  Competing in both MX1 and MX2, the MX2 Winter Series champ Todd Leadbitter worked hard throughout the day, six races under his helmet proving what a strong rider this lad is.  Two thirds and a fifth rewarded him with third overall on the day.

A battle of the giants in the VMX class, with Scott Robinson back on top form despite “taking it easy”, he showed true dominance in the class, claiming two race wins and a third to secure the overall.  Tony Hale seems to improve with every meeting, and snatching the first race win with ease proved this.  A second and fourth earned him second overall just ahead of his chum Paul Spacagna.  Spags was on top form, and despite not managing to grab a win, his scores of 2-2-3 were good enough for third overall.

Last to go were the Rookies, and a brilliant turnout of nearly 40 riders was a great sight to see.  Preston Williams might as well have been on his own on the track, a flawless and super-speedy performance earned him top spot, going 1-1-1.  A very impressive ride from young Thomas Casbeard in his first championship outing since moving up from the BW85 class after claiming the championship crown, he looked strong and will be a contender for a podium spot again this year, three second places rewarding him second overall.  A three-way battle for the remaining podium spot between Liam Jones (great to see him back!), Sonny Smyth and Ben Watts ensued.  Watts just managed to snatch away third overall, a brilliant third in race three ending his day on a high.


VMX: 1 Scott Robinson, 2 Tony Hale, 3 Paul Spacagna, 4 Wildman Willis, 5 Martin Bradbury, 6 Yan Dixon

MX2: 1 Luke Kennett, 2 Camlann MacDonald, 3 Todd Leadbitter, 4 Charlie Razzell, 5 Olivier Cook, 6 Mark Atkinson.

MX1: 1 Liam Knight, 2 Charlie Putnam, 3 Marley Willegers, 4 Matt Nash, 5 Craig Daffin, 6 Darren King.

Rookies: 1 Preston Williams, 2 Thomas Casbeard, 3 Ben Watts, 4 Sonny Smyth, 5 Liam Jones, 6 Liam Brosnan.

BW85: 1 Charlie Nightingale, 2 Domonic Newbury, 3 Jamie Watson, 4 Robert Storer, 5 Billy Simpson, 6 Luke Southern.

SW85: 1 Connor Williams, 2 Max Brazier, 3 Aidan Brooks, 4 Tyler Kirby, 5 Leo Akers, 6 Riley Saunders.

Juniors: 1 Mitchell Woodward, 2 Noel Brooks, 3 Travis Barnes, 4 Lewis Collins, 5 Kieran Paget, 6 Scott Harris.

Autos: 1 Jake Webb, 2 Arash Deering, 3 Jayden Neale, 4 Fabian Junior Morrison, 5 Troy Kennett, 6 Billy Alder.