Now Reading
Cooking in the Fens! Fenland Grasstrack Jon Underwood Trophy! Race Report & Results

Cooking in the Fens! Fenland Grasstrack Jon Underwood Trophy! Race Report & Results

by adminMay 25, 2018

Fenland Grasstrack club once again celebrated the memory of a great young Grasstrack racer on Sunday, hosting their annual Jon Underwood trophy meeting. Fabulous weather was matched by a decent crowd and an excellent racing surface, providing some top racing in all classes.

Intro and Result images by Gareth Bemister – Action images courtesy of Martin Ilsley

The youth entry was one of, if not the biggest of the year with stacks of talented youngsters taking to the grass. Ollie Binns is in fine fettle this year and raced to the Auto Cadets win ahead of Rico Joyce and George Colvin.

Mitchell Bowman stamped his authority on the Cadet class for the victory, with Cooper Rushen in second and Alfie Attoe in third. 

A big class of Juniors saw Cameron Taylor come home with the win fending off second placed Kenzie Cossey and third place racer Ashton Vale.

Jake Mulford is going to be a handful when he moves into the Adult ranks and won the Inters class in a talented field of young stars. Mickie Simpson was the runner up in this group with Chris Mackie third.

Moving on to the Adults Rhys Wilding was the king of the Upright Solo’s keeping Peter Baker and Nigel Coates at bay for the win. 

A full house of GT140’s did a great job showcasing this growing class and it was George Fenner who led the field and took the win ahead of Karl Rushen and Jed Rolph.

Rod and Billy Winterburn turned on the style in the 1000cc Sidecars and reigned supreme over the Colin Blackburn/Carl Pugh outfit in second with Rob Wilson/Bradley Steer in third.

A strong entry of 500cc solos was won by Harland Cook who on his day looks a match for anyone. Stephen Green put in a good shift for second with up and comer Aaran Butcher in third.

In the 500cc Sidecars it was the Simon Beard/Ant Goodwin crew who pulled off the win, ahead of Tony Dart/Wayne Powell in second and Scott Dunn/Karl Hocaniuk in third.

Mark Giles is just as quick now as he has ever been and took the victory in the 350cc Solo class ahead of Daryl Keeble in second and another class veteran Wayne Broadhurst in 3rd.

The Quarter Litre master was David Knowles who when it comes to racing 250’s has been there, done it and got quite a few t shirts. A similar thing can be said of runner up Graham Thomas, and they both defeated Tim Greig who they beat back into third.

There was also a 250cc classic class and Chris Mackett topped the podium in this new class ahead of 2 stroke king of back in the day Phil Ranson with Giles Dismore in third.

John Underwood was the lone pre 75 solo on the day.