Now Reading
British Masters Grasstrack heads to Cheshire this weekend – Preview and Event info

British Masters Grasstrack heads to Cheshire this weekend – Preview and Event info

by adminAugust 10, 2018

Preparations for the 2018 British Masters Grasstrack Final hosted by the Cheshire Grasstrack Club on Sunday 12th August 2018 are progressing well at Woodhouse Lane, Gawsworth near Macclesfield.

Images courtesy of Darren Nokes

The track is in great condition and work on Posts and Roping is almost complete. The rider lists have been confirmed with a great line-up of riders who will be competing for the 2018 British Masters Title in each Class. Also running alongside the main Championship classes are support classes of Quads to add to the excitement.

Cheshire Grasstrack Club have worked hard to attract Sponsors for this event with all races carry prize money and there is a very impressive overall prize fund, probably the largest prize fund in recent times.

The club will also be holding a Bahn Rekord Event to kick-off the meeting for the Solos and Sidecars, riders being nominated after practice, fastest Solo and Sidecar taking a £300.00 prize each.

Practice starts at 10:30am on Sunday followed by the Rider Parade / Bahn Rekord at 12:30pm and the First race at 1pm.

During the meeting there will be Interviews with past Champions and Celebrities, and following the completion of the Finals there will be a presentation Ceremony all hosted by our MC John Norcott.

Why not witness an action-packed day of racing with the Cream of UK Grasstrack Riders competing for the 2018 ACU British Masters Championships. Admission is £15 for Adults, £10 for Concessions with Children Under 16 Free. For users of Sat Navs the full address for all the action is Woodhouse Lane, Gawsworth, Nr. Macclesfield, Cheshire, SK11 9QY

Camping is available (free) from Friday afternoon through to Monday lunch-time for those wishing to do so. Toilets and running water will be available on site and there will be live entertainment on the Saturday night, along with the Bar being open in the Beer Tent.

To keep up to date with news and preparations for the Masters, Like the clubs Facebook Page ‘Cheshire Grasstrack Club’.

The Rider list is:

500cc Solos

2 Tim Nobes
7 Andy Mellish
12 Daniel Winterton
15 Martyn Sturgeon
17 Tom Perry
21 David Howe
22 Andrew Appleton
24 Adam Filmer
29 Henry Atkins
32 Jamie Fenn-Smith
37 Chris Harris
44 Mark Baseby
45 Ryan Ashcroft
53 Jody Hodgson (2nd Reserve)
64 Chris Malone
66 Stephen Green
69 James Wright
86 Paul Hurry
89 Luke Tuck (1st Reserve)
92 Charley Powell
93 James Shanes
95 Jason Handley
109 Zach Wajtknecht
121 Jade Mudgway
134 Richard Hall
171 Andrew Whitaker

1000cc Sidecars

3 Lee Jones / Ryan Wharton
7 Richard Jenner / Kyle Wilce
8 Gary Shearer / Robbie Simmons
10 Clint Blondell / Kevin Bennett
12 Neil Owen / Jason Farwell
15 Matt Fumarola / Gareth Williams
16 Simon Heal / Roland Bloomfield
24 Rob Wilson / Terry Saunters
25 Colin Blackbourn / Carl Pugh
29 Tom Cossar / Wayne Richards
37 Mark Cossar / Carl Blyth
48 Rod Winterburn / Billy Winterburn
49 Gareth Winterburn / Liam Brown
78 Kieran Hicks / Kieron Ivy
80 Will Offen / Josh Russell
87 Rob Bradley / Darren Wilce
92 Paul Whitelam / Alan Elliot
184 John Hiscock / Terry Madley
689 Matthew Huddy / Jason Barry


8 Jordan Turnock
9 Mark Ramsdale
15 Dafyd Evans
16 Richard Badham
17 Tom Chell
22 Dylan Evans
28 Mark Hooker
34 Nick Wright
92 Daniel Jones
115 Corey Howell
126 Chris Wright
161 Edward Davies