Now Reading
Boisrame tops EMX250 in Latvia but Pocock Podiums and goes 2nd in the series. Highlight’s, Report and Results

Boisrame tops EMX250 in Latvia but Pocock Podiums and goes 2nd in the series. Highlight’s, Report and Results

by adminMay 14, 2018

The 2018 MXGP of Latvia is well underway from Kegums and joining in the action of the World Championship was the FIM Europe class of EMX250 presented by FMF Racing.

Images courtesy of MXGP

While the MXGP and MX2 classes are running their points paying races this afternoon the EMX riders started their championship racing Saturday and finished it up early Sunday. Topping the overall standings was Honda Redmoto Assomotors Mathys Boisrame!

A reversed track layout provided exciting racing both Saturday and Sunday in both classes but in EMX250 Race 1 on Saturday Estonia’s Karel Kutsar took the lead early and held it for the first 12 laps before Honda Redmoto Assomotors Mathys Boisrame took the premier position away.

Boisrame who started in 3rd also passed KTM Silver Action’s Gianluca Facchetti for second on lap 3 before overtaking Kutsar. BUD Racing Monster Energy Kawasaki’s Brian Moreau was running in 4th the first 2 laps but was passed by REVO Husqvarna UK’s Martin Barr and then Barr’s teammate Mel Pocock the 2 laps after that.

EMX250 start

Team DIGA-Procross rider Dylan Walsh started in 7th but then battled with GL12 Racing’s James Dunn on his 2 Stroke KTM. Walsh originally took the spot as Dunn dropped 2 positions but the Brit and his 2 stroke mounted a charge to pass Walsh who finished 9th later on.

Dunn then came under pressure from Rockstar Energy Husqvarna Factory’s Mikkel Haarup but edged out the Dane to take 6th with Haarup 7th as Boisrame won over Kutsar and Facchetti.

Race 2 was a completely different race for Haarup who took the lead on the first lap and never looked back. Running in second the entire race was Pocock but behind him early was Ceres 71’s Paolo Lugana. However after only 2 laps Lugana starting dropping positions eventually finishing 24th.

Latvia winner Mathys Boisrame

Race 1’s winner, Boisrame started in 6th and battled with Martin Barr from the first laps. ASTES4-TESAR Yamaha’s Roan Van de Moosdijk was 4th on the first 2 laps but took over third from Lugana and held the position to the finish.

Facchetti who started the race 10th moved his way forward and on the last lap made a pass on Team Suzuki Germany’s Jett Lawrence for 5th. Also making a pass on the last lap was Barr on Boisrame for fourth in turn giving Barr the red plate over his teammate Pocock.

In the overall standings Boisrame took the win ahead of Haarup and Pocock while Martin Barr keeps the Red Plate to Matterley Basin.

EMX250 Race 1 Top Ten: 1. Mathys Boisrame (FRA, Honda), 29:27.086; 2. Karel Kutsar (EST, KTM), +0:01.467; 3. Gianluca Facchetti (ITA, KTM), +0:12.718; 4. Martin Barr (GBR, Husqvarna), +0:17.281; 5. Mel Pocock (GBR, Husqvarna), +0:23.385; 6. James Dunn (GBR, KTM), +0:25.242; 7. Mikkel Haarup (DEN, Husqvarna), +0:26.028; 8. Kevin Horgmo (NOR, KTM), +0:33.452; 9. Dylan Walsh (NZL, Husqvarna), +0:43.960; 10. Karlis Sabulis (LAT, Yamaha), +0:44.380.

Martin Barr still holds the Red Plate

EMX250 Race 2 Top Ten: 1. Mikkel Haarup (DEN, Husqvarna), 31:09.071; 2. Mel Pocock (GBR, Husqvarna), +0:10.195; 3. Roan Van De Moosdijk (NED, Yamaha), +0:15.207; 4. Martin Barr (GBR, Husqvarna), +0:16.476; 5. Mathys Boisrame (FRA, Honda), +0:18.357; 6. Gianluca Facchetti (ITA, KTM), +0:24.656; 7. Jett Lawrence (AUS, Suzuki), +0:30.023; 8. Kevin Horgmo (NOR, KTM), +0:32.075; 9. Isak Gifting (SWE, KTM), +0:35.430; 10. Jeremy Sydow (GER, KTM), +0:47.869.

EMX250 Overall Top Ten: 1. Mathys Boisrame (FRA, HON), 41 points; 2. Mikkel Haarup (DEN, HUS), 39 p.; 3. Mel Pocock (GBR, HUS), 38 p.; 4. Martin Barr (GBR, HUS), 36 p.; 5. Gianluca Facchetti (ITA, KTM), 35 p.; 6. Karel Kutsar (EST, KTM), 29 p.; 7. Kevin Horgmo (NOR, KTM), 26 p.; 8. James Dunn (GBR, KTM), 23 p.; 9. Isak Gifting (SWE, KTM), 22 p.; 10. Roan Van De Moosdijk (NED, YAM), 20 p.

EMX250 Championship Top Ten: 1. Martin Barr (GBR, HUS), 128 points; 2. Mel Pocock (GBR, HUS), 126 p.; 3. Mathys Boisrame (FRA, HON), 120 p.; 4. Dylan Walsh (NZL, HUS), 103 p.; 5. Giuseppe Tropepe (ITA, YAM), 85 p.; 6. Brian Strubhart Moreau (FRA, KAW), 85 p.; 7. Roan Van De Moosdijk (NED, YAM), 83 p.; 8. Mikkel Haarup (DEN, HUS), 81 p.; 9. Steven Clarke (GBR, HON), 81 p.; 10. Karel Kutsar (EST, KTM), 77 p.

EMX250 Manufacturers: 1. Husqvarna, 176 points; 2. Honda, 161 p.; 3. Yamaha, 142 p.; 4. KTM, 140 p.; 5. Kawasaki, 117 p.; 6. Suzuki, 30 p.