Now Reading
A right pair of Charlie’s – Portmouth MXC Club Championships Round 2 – Race Report & Results

A right pair of Charlie’s – Portmouth MXC Club Championships Round 2 – Race Report & Results

by adminMarch 27, 2018

Finally a break in the weather, and despite constant showers before the meeting, Swanmore was prime and ready to go for Portsmouth MX Club’s second summer round. A very tacky circuit certainly tested all rider’s abilities.

Report by Kay Kennedy – Images courtesy of

First out were the 65s and the two Charlie’s – Richmond and Hucklebridge – were both vying for top spot. Richmond took the lead in each moto and romped home with the overall win. Hucklebridge followed the leader home in the closing motos to be awarded third overall. Mitchell Woodward looked impressive with an opening second place and remained hot on the leaders heels for the rest of the day to secure second overall.

A four way battle for the lead ensued in the Small Wheel 85 class, but Harrison Greenough ran away with the overall victory. It was left to Riley Saunders, Aidan Brooks and Ashton Phillips to battle it out for the runner up spots, but Phillips narrowly missed out after take a heavy tumble in the final moto. Saunders was determined to grab the spot and did so in fine style to finish in second, with Brooks moving into second spot in the closing moto to finish in third overall.

Harvey Cashmore was set for three straight wins again in the bigger wheeled class, but Dominic Newbury wasn’t letting him have it all his own way!! An outstanding start for Newbury who led from start to finish grabbed the opening race win, and stayed in contention for another, finishing in third overall on the day. Cashmore followed Newbury home, but came out fighting strong in the remaining motos to lead the pack and stole the overall victory, going 2-1-1. Charlie Nightingale was hot on his back wheel, and didn’t give him an inch to spare. Going 3-2-2 rewarded Charlie with second overall.

A slightly reduced turnout in the MX1, with Christopher Wratten riding as though he was the only one on the track. Three straight race wins ensured the overall victory was his. Jake Penny wasn’t far behind, and battling it out with Liam Garland and George Purchase who were no-shows in race three provided some exciting racing. Going 2-2-2 secured him the runner up spot ahead of George Smith. Smith swapped machines and took out the four-banger for the day, and despite a couple of spills early on, he edged his way closer to the top of the leader board, finishing the day in third place and third overall.

Another packed MX2 class provided the spectators with non-stop action. Luke Kennett stole the show, and was unchallenged throughout the day. Leading from start to finish in all three motos rewarded him with first place overall. A battle between Charlie Razzell and Olivier Cook followed closely behind, but it was to be Cook who took away second overall, consistent finishes going 3-2-2 to secure the runners up spot. Razzell was riding at a blistering pace, but tangling with another rider denied him replicating his second place in the opening moto, but did enough to secure third overall.

The big guns were out next, the VMX, with the top three looking like it would be mapped out from the start. Scott Robinson soon sped into the lead, after Martin Bradbury grabbed the holeshots, but getting a bit too friendly with a post left Bradbury unfortunately sitting out the last moto and heading to A&E. No trouble for Robinson though as he romped home to three easy victories and the overall win. Wildman Willis kept the leader within his sights and going bar to bar again with the riders at the front had to work hard to keep his position. Going 2-2-2 he finished runner up ahead of Paul Spacagna. Mr Cool on the track, but arguably the most out of control, Spags’s finesse shone through as he stayed in contention of a top three spot all day. Brilliant racing between Spags and Stuart Scott saw the two riders going head-to-head, but Spags just pipped Scott to the finish post to secure third overall.

The Rookies was once again a total domination by Preston Williams, showing no mercy to any other rider, and took control from the drop of the gate to the chequered flag. Three straight wins rewarding him with the overall. Thomas Casbeard was on full charge in each moto, hunting the leader down as each lap passed. A brilliant ride rewarding him with three second places and second overall. Callum Allison was set for third overall, two comfortable third places in the opening motos, but a nasty crash just after the finish line denied him, limping home in 10th place. Liam Brosnan was back in the leading pack, saving his best for last to finish in third and took away third overall.

Last out were the Autos and medals should be awarded to all the little ones for tackling what turned out to be a very testing circuit for such small bikes! The conditions didn’t seem to affect the front runners, with Arash Deering and Fabian Junior Morrison going head to head for supremacy. Deering was going so fast that the flag didn’t get put out in time! But he was soon awarded the first race win, and the last to secure the overall. Junior wasn’t let him get away with all three wins, and stole first place away in race two, going 2-1-2 to finish up in second spot. Jack Dugmore has certainly stamped his name on the group, and what a day he had. Not putting a wheel wrong all day, Dugmore soon found himself in the top three, two third places rewarding all his hard efforts and he ended the day on a high in third overall.

VMX: 1 Scott Robinson, 2 Wildman Willis, 3 Paul Spacagna, 4 Stuart Scott, 5 Oliver Nutt, 6 David Freestone.
MX2: 1 Luke Kennett, 2 Olivier Cook, 3 Charlie Razzell, 4 Mark Atkinson, 5 Brandon Hickman, 6 Craig Cartwright.
MX1: 1 Christopher Wratten, 2 Jake Penny, 3 George Smith, 4 Carl Turner, 5 Andrew Walker, 6 Liam Manchip.
Rookies: 1 Preston Williams, 2 Thomas Casbeard, 3 Liam Brosnan, 4 Callum Allison, 5 Jesse Wren, 6 Travis Reynolds.
BW85: 1 Harvey Cashmore, 2 Charlie Nightingale, 3 Domonic Newbury, 4 Robert Storer, 5 Luke Southern, 6 James O’Mara.
SW85: 1 Harrison Greenough, 2 Riley Saunders, 3 Aidan Brooks, 4 Ashton Phillips, 5 Tyler Kirby, 6 Max Brazier.
Juniors: 1 Charlie Richmond, 2 Mitchell Woodward, 3 Charlie Hucklebridge, 4 Scott Harris, 5 Lewis Collins, 6 Noel Brooks.
Autos: 1 Arash Deering, 2 Fabian Junior Morrison, 3 Jack Dugmore, 4 Troy Kennett, 5 Toby Bond, 6 Harry Gay.